Study Abroad: My Parents Are Here!

It’s been 48 days since I’ve arrived in the UK, and finally my parents came to visit me on Tuesday. When I first saw them, I may or may not have cried like a little girl. Ever since, I have been showing them around Leicester and making sure they don’t get run over by city traffic.

I showed them the parks…

parentsarchabbeypark

They brought me four boxes of Luna bars, one box of Stove Top Stuffing, one box of graham crackers, one container of Old Bay, hot chocolate, Thanksgiving napkins and decorations, four boxes of Kraft Mac & Cheese, and one box of Twinkies.

I am excited to share some of these “American foods” with my new friends. I don’t think I’ve ever even tried a Twinkie, but you have to admit, it definitely screams cliche, processed, sugary American convenience food.

americanfood

We got some tasty Wagamama’s. I’ve never been before, but it was so delicious. I got Chicken Ramen, which is basically noodles, broth, spinach, onions, and chicken. The sodium was probably off the charts, but otherwise it was a nice healthy, filling meal.

My dad liked how big the bowls were.

wagamama

It’s so exciting to have my parents here until early next Thursday. I am going to be so sad to see them leave, but I am trying not to dwell on that and just focusing on enjoying the time we have together.

Tomorrow, we will be leaving for London for two days and then Paris until Wednesday (!), so you can expect a recap sometime later next week.

42 days until I am back in the US.

11 thoughts on “Study Abroad: My Parents Are Here!

  1. Anonymous November 1, 2013 / 2:57 pm

    Loved this! Have a great time in London and Paris!!!! Miss you all!!

  2. budziak November 1, 2013 / 4:00 pm

    Ooo, I’m planning a Europe vacation next year and Paris is a stop on my list! I keep trying to get my friends and family to visit me but they’re all broke (excuses!). Looks like you all had a blast! P.S. Best Luna bar flavor EVER.

    • Sam November 2, 2013 / 6:35 pm

      I agree. The caramel brownie flavor is a close second, but Nutz Over Chocolate is definitely the best.

  3. nyrmirez November 1, 2013 / 7:52 pm

    Have fun with your parents! I can’t wait to hear about your visit to London and Paris.

    • Sam November 2, 2013 / 6:35 pm

      Thanks! :)

  4. all.things.lady November 1, 2013 / 7:58 pm

    Enjoy their company while you can :) Take care – Enjoy London and Paris – I’m sure you’re gonna love both cities!

    • Sam November 2, 2013 / 6:36 pm

      Thanks :) We are in London now, and I love it!

  5. klyse3 November 2, 2013 / 9:46 pm

    Yay for your parents coming! And yay for Paris!!! That is so exciting. :D We definitely need a full review of that trip!

  6. Emma @ Culturecopia November 5, 2013 / 3:53 pm

    Enjoy your time together! That’s really nice that your parents came to visit. Mine weren’t able to so we were apart for two increments of 4 months!

Leave a Comment

