Ooh La La: My First Visit to Paris

Early Monday morning, I boarded my first Eurostar train and arrived in Paris at 11 a.m. Prior to this, me and my parents knew absolutely no French whatsoever, so going to Paris was certainly a challenge.

Once we got to our hotel, it was a ten minute walk from the Eiffel Tower, so it was our first stop in our trip.

eiffeltower2eiffeltower

First off, the Eiffel Tower is the most impressive thing that I have seen in my entire life. Honestly, it’s impossible to stand beneath it and not revel at it. It’s just so freaking big. You can see it from blocks away, and we got a chance to go to the very top.

lockoneiffeltower viewfromeiffeltower

The view from the Eiffel Tower is breathtaking and also very windy. It was cool to be able to walk around the platform and see all of Paris spread around us.

Of course there were locks clipped to the top fence of the tower. Let’s be honest, there are locks all over Paris. It probably has something to do with the Pont de l’Archevêché…

parislockbridge2 parislockbridge

The Pont de l’Archevêché is a bridge in Paris, which has hundreds of locks locked onto it. These locks are left by lovers who inscribe their name on the lock before locking it to the bridge and throwing the key into the Seine river.

After throwing the key into the river, it’s supposed to be symbolic of an unbreakable love – very romantic – very Parisian.

notredamenotredamegargoyleviewfromnotredamparismuesuempasslouvre

My parents were smart enough to get the Paris Museum Pass, so we were able to go into a lot of museums and monuments including the Louvre and Notre Dame.

I was feeling under the weather, so climbing to the top of Notre Dame was a bit of a dizzying experience (colds and spiral staircases don’t mix). The view from the top was beautiful though, and we could see the Eiffel Tower in the distance.

The gargoyles of Notre Dame were a bit creepy (yet all I could think about was The Hunchback of Notre Dame when I saw them).

parisansunset eiffeltoweratnight

When it was finally time for sundown, my parents hustled me up five escalators of the Pompidou to see the sun set over the city. It was pretty beautiful, but nothing could compare to how gorgeous the Eiffel Tower is at night.

It was freezing outside, but the lights were really something to see. We only saw it sparkle once from afar, but even at standstill the Eiffel Tower is gorgeous.

Overall, Paris seemed very different from the US. Everyone basically looks like they walked out a GQ magazine. Parisians are very serious about baguettes. There’s quite a bit of smoking, and there is a cafe every twenty feet. Life is different in Paris – not in a bad way – but definitely different from the US.

Have you ever visited Paris?

21 thoughts on “Ooh La La: My First Visit to Paris

  1. Kelly FlatEleven November 9, 2013 / 2:41 pm

    One of my absolute favorite places to visit. Always busy. Always beautiful. Also, my fiancé and I have a lock on the Pont de l’Archevêché… PS. If you ever find yourself there again, catch the train out a bit and check out the Palace of Versailles. X

    • Sam November 9, 2013 / 7:06 pm

      I know! I really wanted to see Versailles but, there wasn’t enough time in two days. I’ve heard it’s amazing!

  2. carminareyes November 9, 2013 / 5:04 pm

    My boyfriend and I sat on the grass and just stared at Eiffel Tower. One of the best places ever.

    • Sam November 9, 2013 / 7:07 pm

      It was so weird because when we went they had all the grass in front of the Eiffel Tower blocked off with temporary fences. Maybe they were seeding it or something…

      • carminareyes November 9, 2013 / 7:32 pm

        There were some signs telling people not to step on the grass but many were sitting anyway and drinking wine.

  3. klyse3 November 10, 2013 / 12:23 am

    I’m dying to go visit…I’m in french classes at University, so all the discussion about French culture and whatnot just drives me crazy because I want to go see it myself!!!

    • Sam November 10, 2013 / 8:48 pm

      You will get there one day and all that French will definitely help you get around! :)

  4. Emma @ Culturecopia November 10, 2013 / 11:54 am

    Ahhhh my favourite city in the world (besides Toronto haha)!!!! I love Paris, I could easily move there for a year or two. London is my second fav, I see you enjoyed that as well!

    • Sam November 10, 2013 / 8:49 pm

      Yeah, I loved London. Paris was harder though because of the language barrier!

  5. Chriss November 10, 2013 / 1:18 pm

    Such lovely photos! Seems like you had a good time ;)
    I love Paris too, I’ve been there once about four or five years ago. It really is wonderful.

    • Sam November 10, 2013 / 8:50 pm

      Thank you :) It was definitely a cool experience!

  6. Carina November 10, 2013 / 2:40 pm

    Love love love Paris. <3

  7. nyrmirez November 10, 2013 / 2:50 pm

    This post makes me so excited to travel to France next year! I can only imagine how beautiful it must be in person. Great Post Sam!

    • Sam November 10, 2013 / 8:50 pm

      Aw yay! You will really enjoy it!

  8. jasminwbu November 10, 2013 / 7:20 pm

    Paris looks lovely, i’d love to go!

    • Sam November 10, 2013 / 8:50 pm

      I’m sure you will get there one day :)!

Leave a Comment

