I’m Obsessed

Recently, there have just been some things that I have been loving, and I am ready to sing my praise to the world. Okay – that might be a little dramatic, but over the past weeks, I have definitely been finding myself revisiting these things on a pretty frequent basis.

First up – coffee.

costacoffee

Here’s the thing – I have never been a coffee person. As a teenager, I never liked the taste, and I never really wanted to get hooked on it because I know getting dependent on caffeine can be annoying to deal with.

But, I blame Leicester and all their freaking cafes. Literally, every section of town is littered with cafes filled with people chatting, reading, working, or people watching. So, recently  I’ve found myself stopping in more and more cafes (Costa in particular – americano with a shot of vanilla – yes please).

It’s more of a weekly thing than a daily one, but when I want to relax, I like to walk into town, find a cafe, and read awhile. And, lately I’ve been obsessed with reading the Kate Daniel’s series…

magicbites

I’m going to preface this by saying, I am a book snob. I really have high expectations of authors, and I rarely finish books that I don’t like. With this in mind, it’s difficult to find books that I deem “worthy” of my time. That makes me sound like a total jerk, but I’ve always felt that reading is supposed to be enjoyable and relaxing, not a chore.

So, when I started Magic Bites, I wasn’t expecting to love it. It’s an urban paranormal fantasy, and recently I feel like this genre has become littered with a lot of…not that great books.

However, I was pleasantly surprised by Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews. I have read three books of the series in the case of a month on my Kindle, and it’s become a reward after finishing homework. It’s a fantasy novel with a strong, female narrator (who doesn’t come off as a bitch) and while there is a romance subplot throughout the series, it doesn’t dictate the plot.

If you like fantasy books with good world building and strongly written characters, I definitely recommend this series!

barrym rose quartz glitter

Next up, I have been using the Barry M Rose Quartz Glitter nail polish at an alarming rate. It’s glittery, sparkly, and girly, and well, I love it. For one, it preserves the base coat longer, and I just like having glittery nails. Christmas is coming after all. I’ve got to build up my glitter nail polish stock.

taylorswiftredcma

Finally, Taylor Swift’s CMA performance of Red has been playing on repeat on my iPod. I am one of those people who when they like a song, they listen to the song over and over again until they get sick of it. I have been listening to this song for six days on repeat, and I still can’t get enough.

The iTunes version is supremely superior to what you will find on YouTube, but if you like Taylor Swift, I say give it a listen.

Cheers.

Any good book recommendations? What’s your typical coffee order?

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “I’m Obsessed

  1. themakeuphound November 15, 2013 / 2:30 pm

    Pretty little blog round up! I feel 100% the same about books- and music – life is way too short to have to ‘plug away’ to get to the good bit – if you haven’t got me early doors then you are being deleted! Oof. I sound a bit manic. You can tell I missed MY morning coffee. x

    • Sam November 15, 2013 / 5:11 pm

      I totally agree. My dad will continue to read books that he doesn’t really like and, I can never wrap my head around it!

  2. budziak November 15, 2013 / 3:50 pm

    I’m picky with books. They have to be in the paper form (sorry, trees!) and I hate feeling like I wasted my time reading a book that’s not good. I know I can rely on James Patterson Womens Murder Club or as I like to call them, the numbered books :-) Although my favorite book is Tuesdays with Morrie ( I have a fear of death and it’s the only thing that’s made me feel ok with it). Mmm coffee <3 Bet its better over there!

    • Sam November 15, 2013 / 5:14 pm

      I prefer actual books (from the library), but I don’t have a library card here, so I have to rely on my Kindle, which is annoyingly more expensive than the library ;). I remember reading Tuesday’s with Morrie a few years ago, and being really swept up in it.

  3. smellslikegirl November 16, 2013 / 6:54 pm

    I love hearing about other people’s passions/obsessions, and likening them to my own! I’m a self-confessed coffee addict. Have you tried Costa’s gingerbread latte? It’s so good!

    • Sam November 18, 2013 / 4:27 pm

      No, I haven’t tried it. I will definitely have to give it a go before I leave though!

Leave a Comment

