A Day in The Life

A few weeks ago, my blogging amiga, Emma, did a day in the life post of her new life living and working in Ethiopia as a Canadian, and I was inspired to write my own day in the life.

7:30 a.m. – Get up and have breakfast. Regardless of what time I go to bed, I almost always get up before 8 o’clock without an alarm. I’m a weirdo. I know. It’s been getting colder and colder in England, so I’ve started getting back into eating oatmeal for breakfast.

10:30 a.m. – I am usually the most productive in the morning, so I spend an hour or two studying/reading/doing homework. Then, once I feel like my brain is about to explode I go for a run.

I run between 4-6 miles a day, five days a week with two or three days of weight training. Exercise is what keeps me sane – I think this is supposed to be me with my game face…

letsrun

12:30 – 1: Eat lunch. I try to eat one salad a day so I get a good serving of veggies, and usually it’s at lunch. I like to cook a pound of ground turkey in the beginning of week, and I use it throughout the week to add protein where I see fit. My favorite salad combo at the moment is: spinach, peas, ground turkey, bell pepper, feta, and a drizzle of oil and vinegar.

salad

2:30 p.m. – I usually have class in the afternoon but, I am off on Mondays. So, usually on Monday, I either go into town to meet a friend or bring one of my readings to finish while I sit in a cafe. My Costa visits are becoming a problem routine.

studyatcosta

3:30 – This is when I get out of class during the week, so I usually do blogging stuff because my brain is tried of learning. A few months ago, I mentioned that I like to stand. Observe my very classy standing desk – a laundry basket from Poundland. Be jealous.

At some point about this time every day, I mope over the fact that the sun sets in England at 4 p.m. I also like to observe people’s faces when they are walking past my building, look up, and see me standing with my laptop balanced on a laundry basket. Keepin’ it cool.

standingdesk2

4:30 p.m. – Stare at the Christmas lights. Apparently, Leicester is pretty Christmas obsessed because the city has been decked out in Christmas stuff for a month now. They just turned on the lights in town on Sunday, and I love them. The US needs to take note!

leicester christmas tree christmas lights leicester

5:00/5:30 – More homework. At this point, I usually need some change of location, so I sometimes go to the library and meet one of my friends or study more on my own.

library

7:00/7:30 – Dinner time. I didn’t feel like really cooking so, dinner is another salad with turkey… I did stop by Tesco and buy a sweet potato, chopped it up into sticks, drizzled with a half a tablespoon of olive oil, sprinkled with salt, and baked for 15 minutes – boom – healthy sweet potato fries.

Two or three times a week, I eat with my friends on my floor, but I am not adverse to zoning out to TV via Netflix.

dinner

8:00 – Either go out with my friends, continue to zone out to Netflix, read something for fun, or do blogging stuff.

11:00-12:30 – Go to bed – spend ten minutes before I fall asleep wondering if I turned the oven off when I made those sweet potato fries.

8 thoughts on “A Day in The Life

  1. budziak November 20, 2013 / 4:56 pm

    That salad looks and sounds delicious! Note to self: pick up a sweet potato on the way home ;-)

    • Sam November 21, 2013 / 9:13 pm

      Yes! It’s so easy to make sweet potato fries. :)

  2. Chriss November 21, 2013 / 8:36 am

    What a fun blogpost!

    • Sam November 21, 2013 / 9:13 pm

      :) Thanks, Chriss.

  3. Ashley November 21, 2013 / 6:31 pm

    Loved this post and that salad looks delicious! I’m going to have to give it a try. :)

    • Sam November 21, 2013 / 9:15 pm

      :) Spinach as the base for salads makes all the difference for me. Iceburg is a total no-go for me.

    • Sam November 21, 2013 / 9:16 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed – maybe you should do a day in the life post! :)

Leave a Comment

