Everyone Should Send Christmas Cards

Can you believe that December is finally here? This year has been a busy one for me, so it feels like this month has been a long-time coming. But now that it is here, I’m fully prepared to fill the next few weeks with Christmas music, movies, cookies, and decorations.

And, with only 11 days left in the UK, I knew I wanted to send some people back home a bit of English Christmas cheer with some cards from, you guessed it, Paperchase.

card3card2 ribbon

I got eight glittery Christmas cards for £5. It’s a little pricey, but I couldn’t resist the  reference to the Christmas “jumpers” (sweaters). English people are crazy about their Christmas jumpers. In October, I remember seeing the first of the over-the-top Christmas sweaters in Primark, but it wasn’t until recently that I realized that people actually wear them in public.

I guess I thought it was a novelty thing, but sure enough, I’ve seen several people rocking reindeer sweaters over the past few days. To each his own.

card card4

Obviously, I couldn’t send a card to everyone but, I tried to send to the people that I haven’t already sent mail to. Ever since I came to the UK, I’ve started to understand the joy that is mail. There is something extra special about getting a piece of physical mail from someone you love, and during the Christmas season, it’s the perfect opportunity to send some snail mail.

If you have even an inkling of a desire to send some cards this year, I definitely encourage you to give it a go. Even if it’s only one card, it’s nice to show someone in your life that you care and, you are thinking about them.

So, put on some Christmas music, get a mug of cocoa, and write a quick hello to the people you love. It is the Christmas season after all.

Do you send Christmas cards?

4 thoughts on “Everyone Should Send Christmas Cards

  1. TooManyMuffins December 2, 2013 / 5:54 pm

    I love making my own Christmas cards and sending them, nothing better than a bit of crafting!

    • Sam December 2, 2013 / 7:10 pm

      Cool! You should do a post on it!

  2. nyrmirez December 3, 2013 / 4:40 am

    I absolutely love snail mail! I have yet to find my christmas cards for this year. I’m still searching for one that catches my eye. I absolutely love the ones you picked up.

Leave a Comment

