10 Things I Love(d) About England | #1 – Primark

Is there seriously only 10 days left in my study abroad experience in England? The past 80 days have been like a dream. I’ve decided to celebrate my last ten days in Leicester (and finishing almost all my course work) by posting about one thing I have really enjoyed while living here every day for the next ten days.

First up, Primark.

leicester primark primark store primark bracelets

If I could describe Primark to another American in one sentence, I would say: it’s the Forever 21 of the UK, but cheaper. It’s a very diverse collection of clothes and accessories, all of which are super cheap. I wrote about Primark when I first got here, but this morning I woke up super early and decided to stop in for a quick shopping trip.

Honestly, if you are not in and out of Primark by 10 a.m., there is a good chance you will queue up for 10+ minutes for the dressing room. It’s a popular place. I got there at 9:30 a.m., and I was blessed with silence and actual space to walk through the aisles.

primark bag style your own primark necklaceprimark necklace

The first thing I picked out was the “style your own” necklace. It was £2.50, and you get every letter of the alphabet to make your own message on the two chains. I thought it was really neat. Now, I just have to think up messages that don’t reuse any of the same letter twice. Hmm.

I also picked out another gold necklace, but this one is longer. Again, it was £2.50, but I thought it would be nice to layer under a shorter scarf or just as an accent. I used to be obsessed with necklaces like this a few years back, and I think I am getting back into the habit.

ombre scarf union jack shirt

I really enjoy the fact that Primark’s scarves are so cheap. This purple scarf is my second scarf from Primark. It was £4. I thought it was really cool because it has the purple ombre thing going on with the top being lavender and fading to the deep purple at the bottom.

I also got this Union Jack t-shirt for £3. It’s a men’s shirt so I got an extra small because the small was too baggy.  I don’t think it’s normal to live in England for three months without coming home with something Union Jack.

I can safely say, I will definitely miss Primark when I go home. Luckily, I still have Forever 21 to fill the void in my heart.

What message can you think up for my “style your own” necklace (remember no repeating letters)?

8 thoughts on “10 Things I Love(d) About England | #1 – Primark

  1. jiagle December 3, 2013 / 5:34 pm

    i wish we have primark.. oh well.. you could do the : move, bitch.. lol :D

    • Sam December 3, 2013 / 6:26 pm

      ROFL It just took me a minute of staring at the computer screen for me to understand the “move, bitch”. I was like…what is she talking about…lol. Yes, I’ll definitely make that a regular message on my necklace.

      • jiagle December 3, 2013 / 6:29 pm

        hahaa.. ;D yay, I’m helping..lol ;D

    • Sam December 3, 2013 / 6:26 pm

      Thanks for thinking of me. :)

    • Sam December 4, 2013 / 2:10 pm

      Thanks, Jenn. :) I’ve got the next few days of posts planned out, but I’ll try to do it sometime in December.

Leave a Comment

