10 Things I Love(d) About England | #2 – Walking

I can’t really decide if I miss my car or not. I haven’t driven since I left home because of the whole driving on the left, having the wheel on the other side of the car, and manual shift thing. But, it doesn’t really matter because having a car won’t do me much good in Leicester.

This is a city, and I quickly learned that cities are made for walking.

new walk victoria park river soar 2 leicester street 2

I actually really like being able to walk anywhere and everywhere. If I need to go into town, I walk. Tesco, walk. Movies, walk. Primark, walk. Uni, walk. Walking is so much more pleasant than sitting in a car.

Luckily, the weather has been incredibly mild here in England, so I don’t have to deal with the snow and ice that is promised come January. Still, even when the weather is crappy, there is something nice about having everything you need in walking distance.

It makes you feel so much more connected to the city because you are forced to become a part of it.

park river soar town hall leicester street 1

I can safely say that I will really miss being able to walk everywhere I need to go. These past few months have made me realize how much I enjoy living in a city versus the suburban area where I grew up and go to college.

I’m trying to fit in as much walking as possible around Leicester the next few days – just breathing it all in for the last time. I’ve got to get my fill before I go home and, the weather is freezing and the only place to walk is around my neighborhood.

Do you walk to or use your car to get to most places?

12 thoughts on “10 Things I Love(d) About England | #2 – Walking

  1. Chriss December 4, 2013 / 3:04 pm

    Here in The Netherlands it is very common to use your bike to get everywhere.(Kind of how you would your car). So, that what I do! I quite like it, as long as it doesn’t rain ;)

    • Sam December 5, 2013 / 4:19 pm

      Yeah, the rain thing is definitely not fun when you’re walking or biking. You can’t exactly hold an umbrella on a bike. lol.

      • Chriss December 5, 2013 / 8:51 pm

        I must admit: I have tried, but cycling and holding an umbrella at the same time does not work…

        • Sam December 6, 2013 / 5:27 pm

          I wish I could have seen that lol!

  2. budziak December 4, 2013 / 5:05 pm

    My boyfriend is so high maintenance that we drive EVERYWHERE, then again things are a lot more spread out here. I think cities that have great public transportation discourage driving; I noticed that about DC. Next time I think we might explore the city using the Metro instead of renting a car. I like driving though. There’s something about it that just clears my mind, if I was ever going through something rough, I’d drive to one of my favorite spots or find a new beautiful place to forget my worries and be inspired & cheered up again. Seeing your beautiful photos, I can definitely see why you walk everywhere though, there’s so much to see and all of it has such character! As much as you must be sad to be coming back to the States, I’m sure you’ll be back to visit Leicester :-)

    • Sam December 5, 2013 / 4:21 pm

      No, I agree about the driving thing too. The routine of it can give you time to think. It’s the same with running for me – my brain just goes off on it’s own once it knows my body has got it under control.

  3. Alison December 5, 2013 / 12:26 am

    I completely understand, I miss walking through the streets of Spain so much. I love how you said it makes you connect to the city more, I didn’t think of it in that way before but you are so right. I loved strolling through all the cities I travelled to in Europe. Enjoy your last few days!

    xx Alison

    http://enzaessentials.wordpress.com

    • Sam December 5, 2013 / 4:22 pm

      I mean, when you are literally walking through a place, it’s hard not to feel like you are a part of it. With driving it’s totally different. You don’t really get a feel when you just drive through somewhere.

  4. producthoochie December 5, 2013 / 2:40 am

    I don’t have a car. I walk to work everyday and if I need to get into the city, I take the subway.

    • Sam December 5, 2013 / 4:23 pm

      I’m jealous. I am going to miss my walks once I come home. Also, the whole not paying for gas thing is nice.

Leave a Comment

