10 Things I Love(d) About England | #5 – Coffee

Up until I came to England, I regarded coffee as a bitter cup of grossness. I could never understand why people drank it on a daily basis except for the obvious caffeine fix. When I came to England, I tried coffee again, and I was surprised that I actually liked it.

I found myself sitting at cafes, ordering coffee because I thought it tasted good. Crazy – and a little scary because now that I like the “grown up” drink, I guess it’s all downhill from here.

I’ve talked about my Costa obsession before, but I think this love is going to continue long after I return to US even without Costa.

cafecosta coffee cup tower

I don’t really find myself drinking coffee for the caffeine. I drink it because I like the taste (all the adults in my life are saying I told you so), and there is definitely enough places in Leicester to get a fix.

Around every corner there is a cafe to get a cup of coffee or a miniature pot of tea. And though there’s a special joy in sitting and enjoying a cuppa, it’s also nice to get a cup to-go and walk around town in the early-winter, bumping into all of the Christmas shoppers.

I really am bummed that I am not going to get a chance to be here when it snows. I think it would be pretty magical.

I can’t believe this is my last weekend in England! Only 6 days to go.

Are you a coffee drinker?

11 thoughts on “10 Things I Love(d) About England | #5 – Coffee

  1. Debbie December 7, 2013 / 2:46 pm

    Yes, I absolutely love coffee & tea! I really enjoy this series you’re doing, but it’s making me miss London/England that much more– especially because I loved all these things about it too. Enjoy your last week and make the most of it! x

    • Sam December 8, 2013 / 10:46 am

      I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I think it’s a nice way to remember all the things I loved about England before I actually leve – it’s like closure in a way.

  2. confabulationsbybritt December 7, 2013 / 2:57 pm

    Now that I’m mama I’ve helped myself to a cup here a there for the taste and the pick me up.

    • Sam December 8, 2013 / 10:47 am

      I can totally understand that. :P How old is your baby?

  3. Kelly FlatEleven December 7, 2013 / 4:21 pm

    I can’t believe you have less than a week left in England! Enjoy it to the fullest. I’ve got a little over a month until my visa ends and I head stateside for a bit… anyways drink as much coffee as you can this week and wander around English streets, but remember there’s even better coffee in America! X

    • Sam December 8, 2013 / 10:47 am

      Me neither. And now, I am kind of excited to try coffee from places at home. :)

  4. Jenn December 7, 2013 / 11:05 pm

    Wow it just seems like you boarded a plane yesterday. I’m glad you got to experience this!

    • Sam December 8, 2013 / 10:48 am

      I was just saying that to my friends. I can still remember sitting in the airport and the first few hours I was here like it was yesterday. Time flies, I guess.

Leave a Comment

