10 Things I Love(d) About England | #8 – Food

After living in England for three months, I am still not exactly sure how I feel about English food. The thing is, I am not exactly a meat and eggs kind of girl, and that’s at the core of English cuisine.

Three months later, my general opinion is that English food is well…fine. I think it’s hard to compare food here to food in the US. We use a lot of salt in the US so, I can see why Americans might call English food bland. There is definitely less seasoning.

nandos

I cooked for myself 99 percent of the time while I was here because it’s so much cheaper, but that’s not to say I didn’t enjoy the food when I did go out. In particular, Nandos and Wagamama stand out as places I really enjoyed.

If I was out for lunch, I usually bought a sandwich because everywhere in England there is a place to buy a sandwich. People eat sandwiches all day every day here. My favorite place for a sandwich was EAT, especially the holiday turkey cranberry sandwich. Yum.

turkey

At the grocery store, I definitely got myself acquainted with UK brands, and I’ve found a lot of things that I’ll miss once I’m gone.

For breakfast, it’s been oatmeal with peanut butter and banana most days. (I eat organic peanut butter, but the English version doesn’t compare to the US).

salad

Lunch has been spinach salads all day ‘eryday. I’ve been spinach obsessed since I got here. I usually load it up with veggies like bell peppers, carrots, and peas. I don’t eat red meat, but chicken is insanely expensive here, so I’ve been cooking ground turkey and using it for protein.

snacks

Snacks have been mostly fruit since I get produce so cheap at the marketThe past few weeks I have also rediscovered Greek yogurt, and I’ve been really liking Liberte (it reminds me of Chobani).

Dinner has been a collection of turkey a million different ways, pasta, sweet potatoes, salad, and peas. I like to cook a full recipe then divide it up and freeze it. It really makes everything a lot easier to have a nice healthy meal ready for the microwave when I don’t feel like cooking.

cadbury

Desserts have been fun to explore since UK brands were completely foreign to me. Cadbury chocolate has found a special place in my heart. I also liked the mini Cornetto ice cream cones when it was a little warmer. Honestly though, the past few weeks I’ve been turning to cocoa. There is nothing like a cup of Options Mint Cocoa to warm me up – making it with milk versus water ramps it up even more.

1400294_635993276444237_937852903_opepsi

There are definitely a lot of US brands available in the UK too though. Most of them are relatively inexpensive but, a select few are astronomically expensive. They have an “American” section in Tesco, which is just one big collection of junk food (a lot of people assume this all Americans eat) priced really expensively.

How would you feel about paying $20 for a 12 pack of cherry Pepsi? How about $10 for a box of Lucky Charms? Surprisingly enough, the Lucky Charms are always wiped out even though they are £6 a box. For some reason, they are hard to come by in England even though a lot of English people are obsessed with them.

Only three more days until I am home.

9 thoughts on “10 Things I Love(d) About England | #8 – Food

  1. Emma @ Culturecopia December 10, 2013 / 3:55 pm

    Wow I’m a bit behind on your blog… oops! Can’t believe you are going home so soon – how does it feel? And yeah, for example, a pack of peanut m&m’s here are $12.50 – crazy!

    • Sam December 12, 2013 / 5:12 pm

      It hasn’t totally sunk in that I am not coming back after the holidays. Woah! $12.50 is freaking crazy!

  2. producthoochie December 10, 2013 / 8:47 pm

    English sweets are fab! Bring back Cadbury-and there is Wagamama in Boston!

    • Sam December 12, 2013 / 5:13 pm

      Yum. Cadbury is where it’s at.

  3. budziak December 10, 2013 / 9:45 pm

    LOL I wouldn’t even eat anything on that American shelf! Although I do love potatoes and meat… That’s partly the reason Toby and I have failed at maintaining a healthy diet. Anyways, I can now see why english clubs always have an egg in them ;-)

    • Sam December 12, 2013 / 5:14 pm

      It’s all very…sugary. lol. I’m not a egg fan. In fact, I never eat them if they aren’t incorporated into something else (like cake). :)

  4. kflowermaquillage December 11, 2013 / 2:58 pm

    Yeah US food would cost a fair bit more there because they have to pay for shipping etc, it’s the same here in Australia :( wow you don’t have Cadbury in the US? It’s so good! Hope you enjoyed your time in the UK :)

    • Sam December 12, 2013 / 5:14 pm

      That makes sense but, I was in sticker shock when I saw the Pepsi for $20. It usually goes on sale in the US for $3!

      • kflowermaquillage December 12, 2013 / 11:13 pm

        Pepsi?! Wow that’s weird. Pepsi is cheap here. Like $2 or 3$. Only the American candy is expensive here.

Leave a Comment

