Goodbye England

By the time you are reading this, I will be on a plane back to the United States. Saying goodbye to my friends last night was tougher than I expected (i.e. unexpectedly crying more than when I left for the US when I got back to my room) but, when I woke up this morning I felt a little better. Like I said in my post about my international friends, we can choose to be sad that we are saying goodbye or we can be happy that we met and had so much fun together.

departures sign

I woke up this morning at 5 a.m. and got the rest of my stuff together. I said goodbye to the last of my friends, who were gracious enough to wake up at 6:30 a.m. to say goodbye to me. Then, I got in a taxi and went to the bus station.

leicester bus station

After a two and a half hour trip to Heathrow, I checked my bags, went through security, and was surprised to find an EAT. I thought I would never see another EAT turkey cranberry sandwich again, but luck shined down on me. I got a fruit cup too. How did I forget how awesome mango and kiwi was?

I was very sad they didn’t have a Costa in my terminal so; I had to settle with coffee from Pret.

eat turkey cranberry sandwichpret coffee

I spent the last of my pounds on a book, Gone Girl, to read on the plane (I broke my Kindle last week – I am still in mourning). I’ve read good reviews, so hopefully it gets me through the next eight hours that I am going to be sardined into my airplane seat.

british airways

England, it’s been real. Thanks for the tea and biscuits but, I am glad to be going back to a country where I can say “bathroom” instead of “toliets”.

Cheers.

5 thoughts on “Goodbye England

  1. comfortablyychic December 13, 2013 / 2:22 pm

    I’ve enjoyed reading your study abroad posts – it looks like you had a great time! Studying abroad is one of the best things I’ve ever done and I’ve made life long friends from my trip. Travel home safely :)

    jen

    • Sam December 15, 2013 / 6:54 am

      It was a great experience. I definitely would recommend it to anyone!

  2. Kavi December 13, 2013 / 4:34 pm

    We will miss you! I’ve really loved all your posts, especially the love(d) posts! I’m glad you had a good time, have a safe flight! X

    • Sam December 15, 2013 / 6:55 am

      Thanks. I’m glad you enjoyed them. :)

  3. nicoleray93 December 15, 2013 / 9:02 am

    I’ve really loved these posts – its really interesting to see what foreign students think of our lovely England! Glad you enjoyed it and have a safe flight!!

Leave a Comment

