Review: Equate Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover

I never used eye makeup remover until a few months ago and now that I have, I don’t know how I went without it. Last week, I bought the Equate Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover from Walmart for $4, which is meant to be comparable to the Neutrogena version which is $7.

When I bought it, I didn’t even notice the division between the “oil” and water. So, when I first tried it out, I was surprised I had to shake it up first. The product itself has a slick, oily feel to it, but it only takes a little bit to take off waterproof mascara. 

equateoilfreeyemakeupremover

You have to rinse with water after applying, and it leaves the skin around your eyes feeling soft and clean after. I was really happy how nice it leaves the skin afterwards as opposed to some other removers which can leave the skin tight and dry.

It doesn’t require any scrubbing or harsh pulling either. As long as you, you use light gentle strokes, the makeup comes right off in a few seconds.

oilfreeeyemakeupremover

I am definitely impressed by this product. For a store-brand, I didn’t have super high expectations but, it turned out that I really liked this a lot. It’s definitely something I can see myself repurchasing.

Do you use eye makeup remover? What brand?

8 thoughts on “Review: Equate Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover

  1. Carina December 20, 2013 / 1:21 pm

    Oh wow! I don’t know how you got by without eye makeup remover! :0 I usually use a cleansing oil, but my favorite eye makeup removers have been by Laneige and Bourjois. :)

    • Sam December 23, 2013 / 9:11 am

      Yeah, I don’t know how I survived without it either!

  2. Colleen December 20, 2013 / 7:32 pm

    I really like the CVS version as my drugstore eye makeup remover. I definitely recommend it when this one runs out!

    • Sam December 23, 2013 / 9:11 am

      Oh cool. I’ll keep it in mind for when I run out. :)

  3. myclosetnbeautyfinds90 December 22, 2013 / 11:52 am

    I use an the same thing but it’s by another generic brand. it’s from my local grocery store. i love it! it’s really the best eye makeup remover I’ve found. great post!

    • Sam December 23, 2013 / 9:13 am

      The name brand kinds were expensive – like $8! Generic works just as well. I’d rather save a few bucks! :)

  4. budziak December 23, 2013 / 12:20 pm

    This one reminds me of the Clean & Clear eye makeup remover. I’ve been stuck on Bioderma (no oil) but it is quite a bit more expensive. Fun to try though.

Leave a Comment

