The Best Christmas Cookies Ever: Peanut Blossom Recipe

My mom and I have been making peanut blossoms for Christmas as long as I can remember. I mean, it’s basically the best Christmas cookie well…ever. Honestly, how can you deny the amazingness that is a peanut butter cookie with a Hershey Kiss on top?

Yesterday, we baked over fourteen dozen peanut blossoms. I never said, we didn’t have a problem. To be fair, the majority of them are being given away, otherwise my family would probably have to be removed from our house by a forklift if we ate them all ourselves.

peanut blossom

If you have never tried a peanut blossom, and/or you aren’t completely sick and tired of holiday baking, and you aren’t deathly allergic to nuts or chocolate, then do yourself a favor, and make this recipe before the year is out.

Peanut Blossoms Recipe from All Recipes

Ingredients

1 cup shortening
1 cup peanut butter
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1/4 cup milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup white sugar for decoration
2 (9 ounce) bags milk chocolate candy kisses, unwrapped

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Grease cookie sheets.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the shortening, peanut butter, brown sugar, and 1 cup white sugar until smooth. Beat in the eggs one at a time, and stir in the milk and vanilla. Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt; stir into the peanut butter mixture until well blended. Shape tablespoonfuls of dough into balls, and roll in remaining white sugar. Place cookies 2 inches apart on the prepared cookie sheets. (Tip: Make sure you have unwrapped your kisses because you want to put them in the cookies as soon as they come out of the oven!)
  3. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes in the preheated oven. Remove from oven, and immediately press a chocolate kiss into each cookie. Allow to cool completely; the kiss will harden as it cools (Tip: It will take more than two hours for the Kiss to harden completely!).

peanut blossoms 2

It was especially easy making these this year because my mom and I have made them so many times, it has become like second nature. Also, ever since my mom (who hates cooking) started getting into decorating and baking cakes, everything seemed to go faster – and when you are making 14 dozen cookies…it’s good to know what you are doing.

What’s your favorite Christmas cookie? Do you bake cookies for the holidays?

9 thoughts on “The Best Christmas Cookies Ever: Peanut Blossom Recipe

  1. kflowermaquillage December 23, 2013 / 9:26 am

    These look soooo good!!

    • Sam December 23, 2013 / 3:57 pm

      They are the best!

  2. budziak December 23, 2013 / 12:39 pm

    Yum! I usually make rum cake, it’s so delicious. Although this year, I decided to do something I’ve never done and made toffee, which is actually ridiculously cheap & easy. Basically, 2 cups sugar + 2 cups butter (or 4 whole sticks), a bit of salt and boil until brown. As for cookies… I’m not a big fan buuut I do enjoy those Danish butter cookies in the blue tin… I can finish a whole to myself with a cup of coffee. LOL

    • Sam December 23, 2013 / 3:58 pm

      I know exactly what you are talking about. We always used to get those cookies for Christmas, and they would be gone by the New Year!

  3. producthoochie December 23, 2013 / 1:02 pm

    I bake crumb cakes. This year I made 10. The cake is fairly easy to make. I also plan on baking chocolate chip cookies for my hubs
    .

    • Sam December 23, 2013 / 3:58 pm

      That must have taken quite a bit of time to wait for them all to bake! :)

      • producthoochie December 23, 2013 / 5:42 pm

        Nah- like you said, when you make something so many times it’s like clockwork.

  4. Natalie December 23, 2013 / 6:12 pm

    Love those very much! I like to make sugar cookies :)

  5. Jenn December 24, 2013 / 7:02 am

    Those are my favorite! Something about the chocolate and peanut butter flavor combo is perfect. I bought myself a Kitchen Aid mixer for Christmas and cant wait to get it out of layaway so I can start baking everything. I make some pretty bad ass glueten free soft chocolate chip cookies and cream filled cupcakes.

Leave a Comment

