Eye Tutorial: Blue Eye Shadow

Some women are really scared of blue eye shadow. And as neutral lover myself, I can admit that delving farther into the color spectrum can be a little nerve-wracking. But, I was feeling a little adventurous yesterday and so, I found myself reaching for my blue Studio Secrets eye shadow palette from L’Oreal (their palettes are awesome, by the way).

blue eyeshadow1and2

1. Apply a pale blue base shadow to the entire lid.

2. Apply a medium blue shade to the outer third of the lid.

3and4

3. Apply a darker blue shade to the crease and then blend out. We don’t want any harsh lines, especially with a non-neutral shade.

4. Apply eyeliner to the upper and lower water line. I used a dark brown liner because I feel like black can be a little too harsh on me.

5. Apply mascara (again, I went with dark brown) and highlighter to the inner corners and below the outer part of the brow bone.

beforeandafter

It has been a long time since I have deviated neutral shades, and I was impressed with the result. Turns out, blue isn’t so scary after all!

Do you stick with neutral eye shadow or are you more adventurous with the color spectrum?

 

 

7 thoughts on “Eye Tutorial: Blue Eye Shadow

  1. nyrmirez January 6, 2014 / 3:04 pm

    This is such a nice eye look for your eyes, it makes them stand out! I get so nervous when I stray away from my browns/neutral shades but I like to mix it up a little bit too. I might try and wear some color this week and see what happens.

    • Sam January 6, 2014 / 7:39 pm

      Thanks. I was nervous when I wasn’t going for my pinks or golds! There has to be at least one non-neutral that suits you – you’ve just got to experiment. :)

    • Sam January 6, 2014 / 7:40 pm

      I just used an off-white shade from another L’Oreal palette. And thank you :)

    • Sam January 6, 2014 / 7:41 pm

      Thanks! :)

  2. thescribblingtrain January 6, 2014 / 10:02 pm

    I love using purples and greens to make my brown eyes pop. I think its lovely when executed the way you’ve done here and totally wearable. It shows that its not as crazy as it first seems :)

Leave a Comment

