Banish Dry Skin with Jojoba Oil

Jojoba oil is a life-saver when it comes to dry skin. The winter months have leached a lot out of my skin, especially my legs which still make an appearance every once in awhile on warmer running days. However, like many people, I hate taking time to moisturize.

This means that I like products that can guarantee long-time moisture because the chances of me moisturizing every thing but my face and neck each and every day is pretty slim. Jojoba oil is a great way to add extra, long-time moisture.

desert essence jojoba oil

In my routine, I add two drops of jojoba oil into every squirt of lotion, rub my hands together to mix, and apply. Jojoba oil is extremely moisturizing and non-comedogenic, meaning it doesn’t block pores while keeping dry skin at bay.

However, the best part about jojoba oil is how well it absorbs into the skin. I have done scrubs with extra virgin olive oil and found that the oil will leave a greasy residue on the skin, this is not the case with jojoba oil. The oil absorbs right in.

You can also use jojoba directly on your skin, cuticles, lips, heels, hands, hair, and scalp. It’s such an adaptable oil that it works on any area that is especially dry even for people with sensitive skin.

I bought my bottle at my local health store for $12. While more expensive than your average lotion, this tiny bottle has lasted me since June. And if you are suffering from especially dry skin, jojoba oil is definitely worth a try.

What is your favorite moisturizer? 

9 thoughts on “Banish Dry Skin with Jojoba Oil

  1. budziak January 10, 2014 / 10:37 am

    Most oils are really versatile; I’ve used Olive Oil on my hair as a pre-shower treatment and I love it every time. I used to use straight coconut oil as a lotion/body oil and I really liked it (except Toby gives me very odd looks when he sees me taking a jar of coconut oil to the bathroom or finds it under the sink). I’ve been dabbling with facial oils instead of facial moisturizer and I think I like oil better than creams… Anyways, I’m loving oils, they’re not nearly as heavy (or bad) as I imagined them to be.

    • Sam January 12, 2014 / 8:53 pm

      I really like to use olive oil in scrubs. It’s great for soothing the abrasiveness of the scrub and providing extra moisture!

  2. Rae January 10, 2014 / 11:54 am

    You had me at “long-time moisture”, thank goodness this brand is available in the Philippines.

  3. nyrmirez January 10, 2014 / 2:14 pm

    I’ll have to check this oil out. I suffer from eczema on my body and face and it’s always a pain to keep my whole body moisturized 24/7. I love the idea of adding it to my daily moisturizer, which some weeks is not such a daily thing, whoops!

    • Sam January 12, 2014 / 8:53 pm

      It would probably work really well for you. It’s really good for sensitive skin since it’s chemical free.

  4. Miss Y January 10, 2014 / 5:30 pm

    Six months ago I started using pure argan oil after my regular moisturisers wouldn’t penetrate my skin any longer and I love it. I have combination skin (oily & dry) but regular use of this oil eliminates that problem for me.

    • Sam January 12, 2014 / 8:54 pm

      Jojoba oil works really well as an eye makeup remover too!

Leave a Comment

