Review: CoverGirl Clump Crusher Mascara

It’s a new year, new mascara, and CoverGirl’s Clump Crusher mascara has made quite an impression on me. For one, for the first time I bought the brown shade. Usually, I stick with black, but after discovering brown eyeliner suits my eyes better, I decided to switch mascara shades as well. I’m glad I did.

before and after 2

The Clump Crusher retails for $6.39 at Target. I got the non-waterproof type and while it will hold up to sweat, it comes off with soap and water and doesn’t smear or flake during the day.

True to it’s name, I have had zero problems with clumping with the Clump Crusher. I have naturally long, darker lashes, but the Clump Crusher seems to amp them up to the next level. It’s volumizing without having to struggle with a clumpy formula.

covergirl clump crusher mascara

Getting a new mascara is always a bit chancy, but the first time I applied the Clump Crusher, I knew it was a keeper. The brown has been an especially good choice for me. And, if you know that golds, pinks, and browns tend to suit you better, you may want to consider trying out a brown mascara.

before and after

 

What mascara are you using at the moment?

13 thoughts on “Review: CoverGirl Clump Crusher Mascara

  1. Rebecca January 13, 2014 / 9:08 am

    I’m using this mascara too, although we call it Max Factor Clump Defy in the UK. I reviewed it back in the summer time ish. My only issue with it is the fact that it isn’t very waterproof at all. I am alternating with one by No 7 but I don’t really rate that.

    • Sam January 13, 2014 / 9:25 am

      That’s weird because it’s pretty water resistant for me and, I have the non-waterproof one. Usually, I take off my eye makeup before I workout, but I forgot one day, sweated for an hour, and my mascara hadn’t run at all. Maybe it might be a different formula?

      • Rebecca January 13, 2014 / 9:46 am

        Yes sounds like the formula is slightly different then, that’s annoying!

  2. bohocadence January 13, 2014 / 9:46 am

    Wow! I like the result – looks very natural.

    • Sam January 13, 2014 / 2:43 pm

      Yeah! I think the brown helps make it look more natural.

  3. nyrmirez January 13, 2014 / 10:30 am

    I have tried this mascara before and I really enjoyed it. I felt it was a natural enhancer to my already long lashes. I can’t say much about it being waterproof because I am so OCD about taking my makeup off before hitting the gym.

    • Sam January 13, 2014 / 2:43 pm

      I agree. I think it worked really well for me because like you, I have long lashes. I am usually OCD about taking off my eye makeup but, on the rare chance I forget remover, I won’t drive home and then back to the gym. I would just end up on the couch. lol.

  4. nataliemontwill January 13, 2014 / 7:26 pm

    This is my holy grail mascara!! I love how the brush is curved so it reaches every lash, and it’s definitely the best thing for natural volume. I’m glad you like it! :)

    • Sam January 19, 2014 / 7:40 pm

      You know – it wasn’t until you said that, that I realized the brush is curved. :P

  5. nataliemontwill January 13, 2014 / 7:27 pm

    Also, the waterproof version is just as amazing. And it’s not so waterproof that you have to keep rubbing against your eye for 10 minutes while removing it, but you can definitely hit the gym without worrying about smudging. Just in case you were thinking about getting that one in the future!

  6. Carina January 13, 2014 / 11:10 pm

    I’m still looking for an affordable CF mascara D: The one I love the most is Maybelline’s The Hypercurl but I can’t repurchase it, but the one I love the most after that is Le Métier de Beauté’s Anamorphic Lash Mascara, but it’s freaking pricey.

    • Sam January 19, 2014 / 7:40 pm

      I’ve never seen the Hypercurl. Is that new?

      • Carina January 23, 2014 / 2:26 pm

        Nope, it’s pretty old but it doesn’t get a lot of reviews/hype! I think it’s because it’s not super volumizing.

Leave a Comment

