Weekend Wrap-up: New Laptop and Don’t Wait Eight Months to Unpack

Despite my attempts at CPR, my old laptop has abandoned me for the tech graveyard on Thursday. After three and a half years, and a lot of bumps and travel – it lasted me well, but my Dell Studio has been replaced with an HP Envy. I’m still getting the hang of it, but I really like that it has a touch screen (meaning my laptop screen is now dirtier than ever). Also, I price-matched it down to a lower price. Who says you can’t haggle at Best Buy?

P1090496thank you card

The Best Buy employee who helped me was insanely helpful. When I got home, I wrote a thank you note to the store manager on her behalf. I think it’s really important to acknowledge good things and people in the world. So often we focus on the bad and we forget to acknowledge the good.

messy roomlying game

This explosion of boxes is why you don’t wait eight months to unpack the boxes from the dorm room you moved out of in…May. The spare bedroom in my parents house has been full of boxes from the three rooms I lived in between January and August of last year. I am finally getting around to sorting through them.

The Lying Game binge sessions are the only way I am getting through it.

brittney spears hit me one more time

When cleaning out said room, I may or may not have found a CD sleeve full of CDs from the ’90s. I then may or may not have had a dance party to Britney Spears. This may have included jumping on my bed to the Spice Girls. Or driving to my dinner plans while belting out Christina Aguilera.

starbucks list book

Starbucks coffee can never trump the Costa Wawa coffee love in my heart, but my loyalty dies when I find a Starbucks gift card in my wallet.

Does anyone else have an obsession with journals/list books/scrapbooks? Honestly, I could spend $100 in the journal section of Barnes & Noble.

goodwillgoodwill clothes

I made my first trip to Goodwill since I’ve been back from England but, it was an uneventful one. No good buys to be found. It probably doesn’t help that I feel like I have a whole new wardrobe at home since I hadn’t seen 95% of my clothes for the entire fall season.

homemade pretzel bites

Every football game should include homemade pretzels and queso. Pretzels are a pain to make, but the payoff is always worth it. Like homemade bread. Or muffins. Or brownies. Actually, anything homemade is pretty much always better.

Also, I enjoyed watching Denver kick the Patriots butt. Once Baltimore got knocked out, I jumped to the Peyton Manning train. Woo woo – next stop Superbowl XLVII.

How was your weekend? Are you a baker? Are you good at keeping your room organized?

7 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-up: New Laptop and Don’t Wait Eight Months to Unpack

  1. Amria January 20, 2014 / 9:08 am

    Uhh enjoy the new laptop ! ^_^

  2. nyrmirez January 20, 2014 / 11:55 am

    Thanks Sam for reminding me to stop by my local goodwill, haven’t been there in a while :). It’s so sweet of you to write that Thank you card. Yay! for people who still give thank you cards.

    • Sam January 22, 2014 / 5:37 pm

      Goodwill all day everyday ;)

  3. budziak January 21, 2014 / 2:59 pm

    :-( I was sad to see the 49ers lose. I went to IMATS so my weekend was awesome, got my California fix but I came back more homesick than ever. It doesn’t help that Toby is away on business too :-/ And yes, I do love baking, red velvet cupcakes & cheesecake from scratch are my favorite to bake. I should try something more challenging though. I realized this weekend, I can’t get by with iProducts, I need a PC (or non-apple tablet, haven’t tried that yet…), blogging while traveling is impossible with just a phone & ipad.

    • Sam January 22, 2014 / 5:38 pm

      I loveeee making cheesecake. I have become such a cheesecake snob since I started making my own, but Cheesecake Factory always holds a special place in my heart. ;)

      • budziak January 22, 2014 / 5:58 pm

        Mmm Cheesecake Factory… Toby is a complete food snob, so we never eat at Cheesecake Factory together. I always have to get my friends to eat there with me. LOL

Leave a Comment

