Dear Universe, Please Give Me Good Roommates

I am a senior in college, studied abroad in England, and am perfectly capable of taking care of myself but, I still get nervous at the start of each semester. You would think that being 21 and having lived in another country alone for three months would have toughened me up. But, as I get ready to move back to school on Sunday, I still feel the nerves of starting over, mostly because I have horrible freaking luck with roommates.

rommates someecards

For the next four months, I will have three new roommates those of whom I have never met. Historically, I have notoriously bad luck in these situations. For some reason, the universe has a vendetta against me when it comes to moving in with new people. I have lived with an insomniac who watched horror movies at 3 a.m, two of the messiest girls I have ever met, and two girls who smoked enough to be mistaken for Colorado natives.

I am a magnet for bad roommates.

However, surprisingly enough, this week one of my new roommates messaged me on Facebook. This is the first time in seven sets of roommates that a randomly selected roommate has ever reached out to me first. Usually, I am always the one who has to make the first move.

roommate comicSo, things are already starting out better than they usually do. I can only hope that I have paid the universe my roommate dues and that this set will be a good set. Please, universe, I am begging you. I can’t spend another semester listening to Chain Saw Massacre through the walls and seeping into my dreams, or cleaning two-week old burnt spaghetti off the kitchen stove.

And after four years and a few really bad roommates, I am really not that hard to please. I just need a shelf in the fridge – just a tiny space to put my food – and some quiet after 12 a.m.

Because you know what? I really can’t bring myself to clean up another noodle of burnt spaghetti this semester.

Any good roommate stories? Do you have good or bad luck with roommates?

16 thoughts on “Dear Universe, Please Give Me Good Roommates

  1. nyrmirez January 24, 2014 / 10:13 am

    Good Luck with your new roommates. You deserve to have some good roommates after all you have been through with your past roommates. So far I haven’t had the best of luck with roommates either, but I guess you learn from each experience and that’s all you can hope for in the end.

    • Sam January 24, 2014 / 10:17 am

      That’s true. My last set of not great roommates, I was just kind of whatever about. At least it motivates me to get out of the house more. ;)

  2. Juul January 24, 2014 / 11:18 am

    I sincerely hope you get lucky in the roommate department this time!

  3. Kelly FlatEleven January 24, 2014 / 12:16 pm

    Good luck girlie! No one likes rotten roommates. In college mine would never take out the garbage. There was a dumpster literally ten steps from our front door (gross, I know, but convenient). Anyways, fingers crossed it’s a good bunch! X

    • Sam January 25, 2014 / 7:33 pm

      Thanks. :) I lived with girls last summer who would take out the garbage bag and put the full bag next to the can and put in a new bag instead of taking out the trash. lol.

    • Sam January 25, 2014 / 7:33 pm

      Thanks. :)

  4. budziak January 24, 2014 / 1:20 pm

    Aww :-( I remember your bad luck from last year. (<wow, last year… Hahaha). Honestly though, I didn't start being a clean person until I moved in with Toby. Sometimes people need someone like you to point out their flaws for what they really are. I now notice how dirty/clean a person's car/living situation is, it matters in any relationship compatibility, I don't want to be fighting about who is cleaning what all the time… Anyways, good luck! I have a feeling things will be a lot smoother :-)

    • Sam January 25, 2014 / 7:35 pm

      That’s true! A good roommate considers their roommate when it comes to things like cleaning just like you would expect your roommate to consider you. The relationship doesn’t work if only one person is making the effort!

  5. producthoochie January 24, 2014 / 7:56 pm

    Sorry that you have had bad experiences. I had four different roommates over four years and all were fine. My first left the school and we are best friends. The second was a senior when I was a sophomore. The third was excellent but there was boy drama and craziness so we ended up living in the same suite but different rooms- and trust me, the boy was the nut! My last roommate was a freshman when I was a senior and she was great- we had fun. I think it was interesting living with different people. And yes, we did live with someone that stole food and didn’t wash dishes.

    • Sam January 25, 2014 / 7:36 pm

      Oh, I definitely have great stories from all my bad roommates. Hopefully, this won’t be one of those semesters! :)

  6. Rae January 25, 2014 / 2:02 pm

    I look forward to hearing good roommate strories soon.

    I was lucky with roommates. And most of them I still keep in touch with. And it’s been 10 years since college. Good luck dearie!

    • Sam January 25, 2014 / 7:36 pm

      Thanks – I am hoping for the best!

  7. Katrina January 27, 2014 / 2:36 am

    I have also had terrible luck with roommates. Right now I’m in a good roommate situation, but it’s probably helpful that I only live with one person. I used to live in a house and there were 5 girls (including me). That was one of the worst roommate situations I’d ever had… so much drama and so many messes.

Leave a Comment

