What a Stud

My mother raised me on a love of big, bold, cheap earrings. And, even though we both still shop at the clearance rack, my love of big earrings has faded, making way for a studlier obsession.

As with most things, I blame Forever 21. 

studs3

If you don’t know, Forever 21 is basically the peanut butter to my jelly – big variety, cheap prices, and lots of accessories. It’s pretty much what I would compare to my version of shopping heaven. With this in mind, it shouldn’t come as surprise that my stud obsession was born among the racks at Forever 21.

What started off as one pair, quickly grew into two than three than five than ten, and now, it’s just becoming a problem.

stud2

I think what really draws me to studs is the value. (Once a cheapskate, always a cheapskate). With bigger earrings you usually pay one price for one pair, but with studs you can get ten pairs for the price of one pair of dangly earrings. It lets me add more variety to my collection without paying tons more money.

I will say, studs definitely compliment an outfit differently than dangle earrings. For me, studs are understated enough that I can pair them with a scarf and a ring, and not feel like I am going into accessory overload. This works better for me because I definitely lean on the “less is more” side when it comes to jewelry and accessories. 

studs

In particular, some of my favorite places to buy new studs are:
Forever 21 (duh)
H&M (hello, clearance)
JC Penny (hello, clearance x2)
Charlotte Russe

Maybe one day I’ll rejoin the dangly earring fan club, but for now I am enjoying hanging out with the studs too much.

Are you more of a stud or dangly earring person?

10 thoughts on “What a Stud

  1. budziak February 5, 2014 / 3:10 pm

    Stud. I told Toby if he was going to get me anything last year for Valentines Day that I would really like a nice pair of diamond earrings rather than buy me something that wouldn’t be used or loved as much. (It got him to research how to buy diamonds, cough cough, LOL) I was planning on getting myself a pair anyways, so it was more a convenient gift. I think studs are just timeless whereas dangly earrings fit certain occasions… and they get stuck in my long hair :-(

    • Sam February 5, 2014 / 3:14 pm

      That’s so weird you just commented – I was just thinking about you. I just read about you going to IMATS – awesome. I tried to comment but I couldn’t find the button/box :/

      • budziak February 5, 2014 / 3:33 pm

        Oh noooo! I’ll see what’s going on. I’m having that (aww I can’t believe someone was thinking of me) moment. Hahaha

        • Sam February 5, 2014 / 3:37 pm

          ;) Yeah, it’s weird. It’s almost like the box dropped off the bottom of the page or something. Maybe it’s just my system though.

          • budziak February 5, 2014 / 4:03 pm

            Hmm, not sure what happened, I tested it through 2 browsers and it came up. I’ll fidget with it some more. Thanks for letting me know! P.S. Last night on E!, Mila Kunis said she liked the bar studs, I’m keeping an eye out for them ;-)

  2. Hannah Lebron February 5, 2014 / 5:43 pm

    Love these studs! I used to love big gaudy earrings and in the last year I’ve been getting into studs as well. Great post!

  3. Emma @ Culturecopia February 6, 2014 / 9:52 pm

    I don’t think a woman can ever own enough earrings ;) I prefer small ones over big, so I do like studs.

  4. confabulationsbybritt February 8, 2014 / 2:03 pm

    Studs for sure. I have SO many, I worked for Claire’s for around 3 years.

Leave a Comment

