Review: Jergens Original Scent Lotion – Good Lotion, Not My Favorite Scent

This winter is turning me into a cactus. I feel like my skin has been sucking up every bit of moisture that it can, and leaving me itchy and as dry as a tumbleweed in the Wild West.

It’s getting really annoying, which is why I decided to pick up Jergens Original Scent: Cherry-Almond Moisturizer last week.

jergens original scent1

It’s really my own fault that I picked out this scent. I guess in my mind, I just figured that “original” meant “mild”, not recognizing the cherry-almond part on the bottle. I don’t hate the smell, but I am not a big fan either. And to be fair, I have been resistant to all things cherry smelling or flavored for my entire life so at no fault to Jergens, the smell was kind of a miss for me.

The lotion itself works well. It absorbs well, moisturizes well, and is overall a pretty decent hydrating formula. I apply this every morning, and it keeps my legs (the dry problem child throughout this winter) itch free. There is nothing worse than having itchy legs when you are wearing jeans – it’s like a slow form of torture.

jergens original scent

Overall, I’d give this lotion a pass. I definitely wouldn’t go back for the scent, but for the price, $5.49 at Walmart, it’s a huge bottle and will most likely last me the rest of this winter. For a budget find, this is a good option and guaranteed to tame the cactus attempting to emerge during the remaining winter months.

What’s your favorite drugstore lotion?

8 thoughts on “Review: Jergens Original Scent Lotion – Good Lotion, Not My Favorite Scent

  1. amysbeautydiary February 7, 2014 / 9:16 am

    This is my favorite drugstore lotion!! I’ve been using it for years. I like cherry scented things though :)

    • Sam February 10, 2014 / 7:24 am

      That probably helps. lol :)

  2. Kelly FlatEleven February 7, 2014 / 9:48 am

    Sam, when you run out of this lotion go out and get a tub of the Cetaphil Moisturizing Cream. Even if it’s already Spring when the Jergens runs out. It’s $9.99 (I think) but is a giant tub of it. And it is has been working like a dream since I’ve come home to this frozen weather. I normally wouldn’t have picked it out, but my mom had it and I stole hers. Oops. It’s not scented, but that always works fine if you like wearing perfume too. I feel like I just ranted, but you had to know. :)

    • Sam February 10, 2014 / 7:25 am

      Hmm. I’ll have to check it out. I actually wanted something with a mild scent so unscented would be good for me. I used to use the Cetaphil moisturizer all the time.

  3. PK February 7, 2014 / 11:12 pm

    Sam, try Jergen’s ultra healing lotion, it’s amazing and it really has a very mild scent. As a life long extreme dry skin sufferer, I swear by it.

    • Sam February 10, 2014 / 7:27 am

      Thanks for the tip!

  4. Running4two February 9, 2014 / 8:21 pm

    I’m so itchy right now! Thanks for reminding me to use lotion. :-). I’ve been using Nivea lately.

    • Sam February 10, 2014 / 7:26 am

      Yeah, running outside tends to suck all the moisture out of my skin and, it seems like you’ve logged a lot of miles outside this winter! I’ve retreated to the treadmill – lol.

Leave a Comment

