Ulta Haul

I made a long overdue trip to ULTA this weekend after realizing that I have not bought any makeup since December. I was struggling to figure out why I was having such a hard time coming up with posts recently when it hit me – I have fallen into a makeup rut. I have been using the same small amount of products for the past four or five months and it was time to mix it up – first stop – Ulta.

ulta store
marc anthony curls

I have been using John Frieda’s Miracle Treatment for the last few months, but I am running out so I picked up Marc Anthony’s Curl Envy Cream in a trial size for $2.49.  The full bottle is only $7.99 but, I am picky with hair products and that’s what trial sizes are for, right?  I used this in my hair last night, and I think it’s safe to say that I will be returning for another bottle. It’s awesome – full post to come.

nyxeyeprimer

I actually went to Ulta specifically for the NYX HD Eye Shadow Base for $5.37. I had run out of my Urban Decay primer potion trial tube (it lasted me six months!) when I was in England, but I couldn’t bring myself to pay $20 for eye primer. The thing is, my days are getting longer again, meaning that eye primer is becoming more of an essential for me again so hopefully NYX is up to the challenge.

Can you believe this is the first NYX product I have ever purchased?

nyx undereye concealer

I have been needing a new dark circle concealer so, I got the NYX Dark Circle Concealer for $4.61. It’s a new product for NYX this year so, we’ll see how it works out. Fingers crossed.

rimmelstayglossy

The makeup gods shined down on me when I came across a very well stocked Ulta clearance section. I really like my other Rimmel London Stay Glossy lip glosses so when I saw these two were marked down from $4.99 to $1.19, I got a little excited. I got both 500 Treasure Hunt and 040 Endless Summer. The red looks really red in the bottle but, it is a nice low-key red when applied. I’m already a fan.

eyeliner

I needed a new beige eyeliner, so I got NYX’s Wonder Pencil in Light for $4.19. I also got this Rimmel London Scandal Eyes Kohl Liner in 004 Taupe for $1.19 on clearance marked down from $4.49. I love bargains.

essie no baggage please

And last but not least, I got a new Essie shade. I usually try to limit my Essie purchases because they are pricey, but it’s been forever since I’ve bought a new Essie bottle, like before I left for England (why am I justifying myself to the internet?). The shade is No Baggage please, and it is definitely pink and sweet enough for Valentine’s Day.

Overall, my total was $30.77, which actually worked out a lot less expensive than I anticipated. It probably helped that I army crawled away from the Stila palettes when I realized that I should probably save some money to buy that food stuff that’s become such a hot commodity these days.

Do you wear eye primer? How was your weekend?

14 thoughts on “Ulta Haul

  1. llewsoba February 10, 2014 / 10:07 am

    I got the wonder pencil last time I was at Ulta!

    • Sam February 10, 2014 / 11:18 am

      I used it this morning for my waterline. It works pretty well!

      • llewsoba February 10, 2014 / 11:20 am

        It does, its much better than the white I had!

  2. kristinsapperstein February 10, 2014 / 11:20 am

    I just bought the wonder pencil as well! Does it last a long time on your waterline or wear off quickly?

    • Sam February 10, 2014 / 12:55 pm

      I am not sure yet. It’s my first time trying it today! :) There will definitely be a review soon though.

  3. gatorglamgirl February 10, 2014 / 8:16 pm

    Those Marc Anthony products are a GOD SEND. I adore them…and I love that they make my curls natural and soft.

    NYX is an amazing brand. I adore it so much. I’m especially addicted to the lip products (the soft matte lip creams and butter glosses in particular). BUT, they make my favorite eyebrow pencil. AND, the prices are so reasonable!

    • Sam February 11, 2014 / 6:40 am

      I really like the Marc Anthony Curl Envy so far! I have to get my hair cut soon but, I am excited to use it once my layers are re-cut. I am all for NYX prices and, the quality seems pretty good for it. :)

  4. Colleen February 10, 2014 / 8:22 pm

    Great haul! I really want to try that NYX concealer, so please let us know how you like it. I’m also so jealous that your Ulta has that good of a clearance section. The one near me only offers a nice collection of broken nail polishes….

    • Sam February 11, 2014 / 6:42 am

      Will do! I think I just lucked out in the clearance section. They were marking more of it at the counter when I checked out, so I probably swooped in right when they put it out. :)

  5. producthoochie February 10, 2014 / 8:59 pm

    The NYX HD Primer is my favorite! You won’t be disappointed.

    • Sam February 11, 2014 / 6:41 am

      I used it yesterday! It works so well!

Leave a Comment

