Weekly Wrap-up

This week has been all over the place. There was that whole kinda sorta blizzard thing that happened and, today is Valentine’s Day. I hope everyone, single or not, is in a happy place. I wrote about being single on Valentine’s Day last year, and I’ll stand by that post yet again. Valentine’s Day is about love, and not just the love of a boyfriend or girlfriend but your friends and family too! Moving on, let’s wrap up this weird week.

key

When I first moved in three weeks ago, my key got stuck in my bedroom door lock. It remained there until the maintenance guy took out the key while I was at work and put it on my desk. When I got home, I then proceeded to put said key back into the lock to see if it worked before looking up at my white board on the door which said, “DO NOT PUT KEY BACK IN LOCK.” Oops. I finally called maintenance again this week and, got a new key and lock core so I can finally lock my door again.

trader joes

I have never mentioned that I love Trader Joe’s because there has never been a Trader Joe’s near me. Then, on Sunday I was driving around in the shopping area near my school and low and behold, there was a freakin’ Trader Joe’s hiding around a turn.  Apparently, it’s been there for years. I am so pumped. Trader Joe’s is like my candy store – healthy food at reasonable prices. It is in the same shopping center as Ulta. There goes my pay check.

cinnamon sugar candle

Four words – Cinnamon. Sugared. Doughnut. Candle. I bought this candle at Bath & Body Works. Oh my lord. This is the best smelling candle that I have ever smelled in my entire freaking life. It smells like a Chinese doughnut. I am almost afraid to light it and burn it down.

treadmill

Running outside has become foreign to me. I have become a slave to the treadmill and Parenthood episodes on Netflix as winter punches Maryland in the face. Hard. Over and over again. On the bright side, at least I have an accessible bathroom and source of water at all times in a climate controlled environment.

giant one scan

Has anyone ever done the self scanning thing at Giant? I used it for the first time this weekend, and it was pretty cool. It gives you special coupons as you go around the store based on your buying patterns from your club card and, most of the coupons were pretty on point for me.

When I got to the end, I paid at self-checkout and the attendant was prompted to do a random bag check where she scanned like ten items in my bag to check against what I had scanned with the scanner. I understand the point of random checks but, it took a few minutes for her to come over and then sort through the stuff in my bag which, kind of defeats the purpose of it being faster in my opinion.

snow

Obligatory, “it’s snowing picture” from snowy day one of three of this week.

Any Valentine’s/weekend plans?

4 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-up

  1. comfortablyychic February 14, 2014 / 11:05 am

    That candle sounds amazing. I agree about Valentine’s Day. Although I’ve been in a relationship for the past 4 years I always look forward to telling my “first loves” aka my parents and best friends that I love them on this day.

    Have an amazing weekend Sam! PS…Trader Joes is AWESOME. Try their gnochi pasta if you get the chance.

    xx,
    Jen

    http://www.comfortably-chic.com

  2. budziak February 14, 2014 / 11:14 am

    My Valentines’ Day plans consist of a beef roast slow cooking while I’m at work, cheesecake making & House of Cards Season 2 :-) And a bottle of red wine to go with all the above. Very low key but still fun, I’m actually really excited. Your key story was funny, its something I could see myself doing (like the time my car battery died and when I got it jumped, my car auto locked and locked my keys in the car -_-) Trader Joe’s has the best bagels!

  3. Running4two February 14, 2014 / 7:52 pm

    Love Trader Joe’s!!! Definitely good prices for healthy food. :-)

    • Sam February 15, 2014 / 3:06 pm

      I agree. I was so excited to find edamame for $1.67. It was a big moment for me. ;)

Leave a Comment

