Mama’s Got a New Bag

I’m going to ignore the fact that it snowed six inches this week and say, spring is coming, people! I was in Forever 21 with a friend last weekend, and there were people trying on shorts. Shorts as in it’s 100 degrees out, booty shorts. Like it or not, everyone in Maryland is ready to wash their hands of this winter, including myself.

And obviously, since a new season is coming – a new Forever 21 purse was a necessary purchase.

forever 21 bag3forever 21 bag2

You probably can’t tell from the picture, but this purse is actually quite small. It can fit my phone/wallet case, lipgloss, and sunglasses, and that’s about it. It’s a cross body, and it’s small enough to be non-intrusive when I am walking.

I picked this out because I am getting hella tired of dragging around my twenty pound purse with five pounds of receipts and extra napkins sitting in the bottom. It’s nice not to feel like my arm is being yanked out of its socket when shouldering my purse.

There will be times when I will switch back to my bigger purse, but this cross body really suits me for going out when I don’t need my entire wallet, aspirin, mini mouthwash, three kinds of lip gloss, camera, book, paper, pen, Band-Aids, and two pairs of sunglasses. Actually – I probably never need that much stuff.

Being a girl is tough work.

Do you carry a massive purse or do you prefer a more minimalist bag? 

8 thoughts on “Mama’s Got a New Bag

  1. nyrmirez March 5, 2014 / 9:45 am

    I’m a minimalist when it comes to what I carry. I always gravitate towards small cross body purses. I do own one big purse and a few medium bags but I rarely use them. I just don’t understand how carrying such a large purse can be good for your shoulders and back. I love the purse you picked up. I am right there with ya, bring on SPRING!

    • Sam March 7, 2014 / 7:06 am

      Yeah, it can be painful and annoying to have a huge bag. I have never carried a super huge purse but, I have gravitated more towards medium sized bags as I have gotten older and had more things I “need” to carry. :) The weather forecast looks like spring is coming!

  2. budziak March 5, 2014 / 12:15 pm

    I’ve stuck to my standard barr + barr handbag that I bought off HSN, their monthly payment system made the purse super affordable. I wanted something made of leather since my cheap purses always ended up worn out and getting torn apart. It’s the purse I use most often since it has pockets and it’s not too big but not too small, I also tend to throw EVERYTHING in it though. I’ll stash my cards, phone, camera, lip balm in to my baby (crossover) purse when I’m out and about. I recently bought a HUGE bag though, I needed something bigger to use as a carry on when I travel.

    • Sam March 7, 2014 / 7:09 am

      Nothing is worse than going out to do errands and having this huge purse swinging around everywhere. :| You’re probably smart to invest in a good purse. I usually keep my low quality ones for quite a good while though and subtly try to ignore the rips and scratches that appear. ;)

  3. producthoochie March 5, 2014 / 6:37 pm

    I love a small bag but for work, need to lug a big one.

    • Sam March 7, 2014 / 7:09 am

      Yeah – I have a 31 Tote that I use to bring in my work stuff, otherwise I would have like 20 bags.

  4. Colleen March 6, 2014 / 2:49 pm

    I love my little bags like that for running around on campus or going out to dinner. There’s no need for a giant purse all the time! I also just want to mention that as a Bay Area native, I was happy to see “hella” make it into your post :D

    • Sam March 7, 2014 / 7:11 am

      Ha :) I didn’t know hella was a Bay Area thing. I don’t know how girls on campus lug around their huge purses all day – I am all good with my dorky backpack. ;)

Leave a Comment

