DIY: Striped Spring Pastel Nails

I haven’t had consistently painted nails in about a million years. Now that I am back to indoor rock climbing, nail polish only lasts as long as the time between my climbing sessions because apparently clutching to synthetic rock face by the tips of your fingernails doesn’t lead to a chip-free lifestyle.

Oh well.

Despite all of that, I took up the chance to break out the pastel colors when I was on the computer the other day. Just because the polish won’t stay on for long doesn’t mean that I won’t still stubbornly paint them in the hopes that this time will be the time it stays.
one

I painted my nails with Essie’s No Baggage Please and then Essie’s Bikini So Teeny on my pinky. I don’t know when accent nails became a thing, but I like it. It feels like I am breaking the nail polish rules – rebellion!

After painting, I promptly lost interest and let them harden up until the next day.

two

Later, I went back and decided to add some stripes.

Using masking tape that I cut into thin strips, I placed the strips over the completely hardened base color. I have tried both masking and scotch tape when doing nail art. Masking tape is easier to deal with and see obviously, but scotch tape seems to get a cleaner line. You can get the same effect with both tapes though.

I then alternated colors for the accent line, painting blue on pink and pink on blue. I am a clever devil like that.

three

After a three coats and ten minutes of drying, I removed the tape and got these three fun lines to spice up my nails. I’m sad to say that all my hard work only lasted through one route of climbing and once I got home, my pastel nails met my friend, Acetone.

Well, at least it was a fun way to procrastinate.

What’s your favorite color for spring nails?

8 thoughts on “DIY: Striped Spring Pastel Nails

  1. nyrmirez March 7, 2014 / 10:09 am

    These look like so much fun! It’s sad they only lasted a short while.

    • Sam March 8, 2014 / 9:03 am

      Yeah – but it was a fun way to procrastinate :)

  2. FlatBrokeCoed March 7, 2014 / 10:13 am

    I love me some spring pastels! I come from pale-ish Irish stock, so springtime is always my favorite! I get to wear more colors that complement my skin tone.
    Obviously I break out the pastel nail colors. I really like pastel blues and pale mint greens. :)
    I may have to try out a version of Patone’s “Radiant Orchid” if I can find it in my nail polish collection.

    • Sam March 8, 2014 / 9:05 am

      Well, the blue I used here is a really nice shade for spring and summer. Bikini So Teeny from Essie is one of my standbys. :)

  3. budziak March 7, 2014 / 11:46 am

    Cute! Coincidently, I’m rocking pale pink nails too!

    • Sam March 8, 2014 / 9:05 am

      :)! I love bright colors but, there is something fun about a subtle pink.

  4. Running4two March 7, 2014 / 5:01 pm

    Love this idea! I hope your nails bring is some Spring weather soon!

    • Sam March 8, 2014 / 9:06 am

      The sun is out today which is already a step in the right direction! :)

Leave a Comment

