FAQ

Why didn’t you tell me you had a blog?
I get asked this question a lot by my friends after they accidentally stumble upon my blog link in my Facebook profile or see me post a status update about a post. I feel like some people feel like I am hiding my blog since I don’t actively bring it up in conversation but the truth is, I hate being the center of attention. Many people think having a blog is a very self-serving, look-at-me kind of thing but honestly, it’s just something I do for fun and, to practice my writing and social media skills, not to get attention.

I like that people I know read my posts and enjoy them, but I never assume that people read my blog. Even though I post what seems like a lot of my life online, I am actually a very private person.

How do you make the time to blog?
Time management! I have a part-time internship where I work 24 hours per week, full-time college classes, homework, rock climbing, running, and a social life. This means procrastination is not an option. If I blow something off one day, even something small, it creates a ripple effect for the whole week. This means, I do my best to plan writing my posts in my schedule. If I blow it off and wait to the last minute, it’s so much harder to get done.

Also, I feel like if I am going to put in even minimal effort to be a blogger than I really should make the full effort to post on a somewhat regular schedule.

What photo editing software do you use?
Photoshop CS6

How do you get people to follow you?
Write good content, post on a regular schedule, but most importantly – comment on other blogs! I don’t mean spammy comments like, “Nice :)! Come check out my blog! samandro.com!” Actually read the post and offer something substantial – this is how you build relationships and earn followers. I spam so many comments where people are just link promoting.

Why do you post about beauty so much?
I started really getting into makeup while I was in college, and since I spend a lot of my time playing around with it, I find myself writing about it a lot. There is something very satisfying to me about putting on makeup and feeling awesome, and I want to be able to share that feeling with other women, especially those who are intimidated by beauty products.

I want to start a blog. Where do I start?
Sign up on a blogging website (WordPress, Blogger, etc) and start writing!  It’s as simple as that. The thing about becoming a “real” blogger is you have to stick through the rough patches. If you think that I write this blog and never have writer’s block, you’re crazy! If you think that there are not days in the week when I just want to give up, you’re crazy! Contrary to popular belief, being a blogger is hard work.

You are not going to be popular overnight or even in a year or maybe even year(s). Do it for you, not the popularity.

Do you have any burning questions that I did not answer?

8 thoughts on “FAQ

  1. llewsoba March 24, 2014 / 9:38 am

    I don’t share my blog on my personal Facebook. My husband will sometimes share a post, but I didn’t tell a single person I knew that I even had one for months. I didn’t want that fake ” Oh thats great” support.

    I really hate link dropping comments…. and people who comment, and say something that tells you they clearly didn’t read the damn post. : /

    • Sam March 27, 2014 / 7:16 am

      Haha! I love when people write something totally irrelevant to the post. It usually gives me a chuckle. ;)

  2. nyrmirez March 24, 2014 / 2:12 pm

    I have share my blog with a selected group of people. I am not a look at me kind of person, so I just let my blog be and whoever finds it, great! I really like that you mention the commenting on other people’s blogs that is a great way to meet new people and expand following. It also doesn’t hurt that you get more wonderful content in your feed. I find it rude when people spam the comment section and don’t mention anything about what you’ve posted it’s a waste of their time and clearly I am not going to want to see their content. Enjoyed your post as always :)

    • Sam March 27, 2014 / 7:18 am

      I don’t understand why people who spam bother either. I guess if you are desperate for a comment, you might click their link.

  3. Colleen March 24, 2014 / 2:35 pm

    I totally agree about the comments! If someone makes an insightful comment that actually shows they took the time to read my post, I definitely check out their blog. If they only self-promote, I make a point to NOT check out their stuff. I think you have a great perspective on blogging – you do it for yourself, and when you put time into making good content followers will come. It can be difficult to push through the phase when it feels like no one’s reading, but that’s very sound advice.

    I do have another question for you, just for my personal curiosity. What social media pages do you use for your blog, and which ones seem to be most useful for you? I just started a Facebook page and I’m not sure how to connect with bloggers and readers that way.

    • Sam March 27, 2014 / 7:18 am

      I usually use Twitter and Pinterest. I have a Facebook but, it seems irrelevant to me and, I never really update it. I think Twitter is probably the best way to connect with other bloggers.

  4. Ashley March 25, 2014 / 5:32 pm

    I’ve received the same sort of reaction from some of my friends when they have stumbled across my blog. I’m blogging because I enjoy it not because I’m trying to get a certain number of hits a day.

    I completely agree with you regarding the link dropping. I really dislike it when people do this whether it’s on my blog or on someone else’s. There are so many amazing people in the blogging and writing a relevant comment is a great way to make new friends as well as a great tool in building your readership.

    xo Ashley

    • Sam March 27, 2014 / 7:20 am

      I feel like some people feel offended that I don’t tell them, and it’s like…uh, it’s not that big of a deal. Also, it annoys me when people feel like they know everything about me since they read my blog – it’s just one aspect of my life, not everything! lol

Leave a Comment

