It’s Okay to Be an Introvert

I am an introvert. This fact won’t surprise people who I have lived with (there’s only so much you can hide when you share living space) but, it often causes my other friends a bit of confusion, prompting things like, but…you’re so happy and good with people. There is a lot of confusion about what it means to be introverted in American society, most of that confusion coming from the perception that all introverts are shy, which I, and most introverts, are most certainly not.

There is a difference between being shy and being an introvert. Being shy involves social anxiety leading to social isolation. Introverts, however, get their energy from being alone, extroverts from being with others. But, how do you know if you are an introvert? What does being introverted mean to me?

29_introvert_vs_extrovert

1. I prefer small gatherings or one-on-one versus big groups. Large amounts of people are overwhelming to me, like my brain is being overloaded with too much information, too many people, too much talking and, usually I like to take a break for a few minutes away from the group to take a big mental breath. That doesn’t mean that I can’t thrive in a big group – I just don’t prefer it.

f68fcaede79294ae26e8ce39de426ac8

2. The internal monologue in my head does not stop from when I wake up to when I go to sleep. I am always day dreaming, escaping into my brain every second that I can. I often find this happening when I feel particularly overwhelmed. Randomly, I have a lot of imaginary conversations with characters from whatever book I am reading that week. Despite this, I am a good listener and pick up most details other people miss.

3. I feel exhausted after a lot of social interaction. After a long day of talking and interacting at school or work, I need to be by myself for an hour or two and if I don’t, I feel mentally drained. Likewise, when I go out with friends, regardless if I have a lot of fun, I need to balance that time by spending some time alone afterwards. This need is like the equivalent of eating a snack when I am hungry – it’s part of sustaining myself.

9e7261dc5e141029975d1d96a4cdb0a4

4. I prefer a few close friends versus a lot of acquaintances. Authenticity is super important to me in my personal relationships, which makes small talk seem silly because it feels like there is a glass wall between me and the other person – we are talking but, we aren’t really connecting on that big level yet. When I do socialize in my personal life, I like the interaction to be as meaningful as possible.

5.  People have called me an “old soul” since I was a child. I contribute this to the amount of thought that occurs in my head about even the smallest thing, like whether or not a paper clip is more appropriate than a staple (yes, seriously). I rarely do anything without seriously considering it – this is a big introvert quality. Relating to#2, I think a lot. That sounds intuitive but, I think the amount of thought I put into things gives the allusion of me being “wise” vs. young and reckless.

If you are an extrovert, these things may seem very weird and anti-social to you but, I am writing this because whether you believe it or not, there are a lot of people like me in the world who are made to feel weird about being introverted.

Recently, I’ve been reading Susan Cain’s, Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking, which has really got me thinking about being an introvert in an extroverted society. The truth is, Americans do not encourage introversion – in fact, it’s frowned upon. Americans want extroverts and, we are taught introverts are weird i.e. thinking it’s bad to want to spend time alone because it’s shy or anti-social.

Introvert4

I have felt embarrassed about being an introvert for a lot of my life, believing that my need to recharge by spending time alone is selfish, bad, or wrong. However as I have grown up, I have learned what level of socialization works for me and makes me happy.

I love hanging out with my friends and, I have a lot of fun being social. I like doing stuff and going places. I need social interaction. But, I also need to be alone sometimes. The key to being a happy introvert is finding the social balance that works for you, and finding people  who respect what you need (even when that means giving you time to yourself) and love you all the same.

int_big

 

Because in the end, it’s okay not to go to the party if you want to spend the night in your PJs watching Gossip Girl. But, it’s okay if you want to go to the party. It’s okay to leave early. It’s okay to stay the whole night. As long you are doing what makes you happy, really happy, then everything is just right.

Are you an introvert, extrovert, or do you fall somewhere in the middle?

13 thoughts on “It’s Okay to Be an Introvert

  1. Mended Wheels March 26, 2014 / 10:10 am

    I am an introvert. BIG TIME. I have even been known to look at my husband when he’s interrupting my read before bed wind down time and say “Honey, I love you. Now hush it up during MY quiet time.”

    The downside to this for me…I am getting to where I cannot stand a lot of noise. AT ALL. :(

    • Sam March 27, 2014 / 7:23 am

      This might work for you – I am a big fan of using Simply Noise (http://simplynoise.com/) to drown out background noise. I have an app on my iPod or I listen to it online and, it’s white noise so you just space out to it. It’s bizarre when you take off the headphones and feel like you’ve just taken off earmuffs. I also like using Simply Rain when I am trying to sleep through noise (http://rain.simplynoise.com/).

      It helps me focus my concentration when there is a lot of noise!

      • Mended Wheels March 27, 2014 / 11:00 am

        Oh, I sleep like the dead, no problem there…lol. I might check out the website though. Usually, I NEED background noise to focus, so it might help a bit. It’s almost like…the more I block stuff out the more I can focus on one task at a time.

        Does that make sense?

        • Sam March 27, 2014 / 1:16 pm

          It totally makes sense. The white noise helps me concentrate when it is super distractedly noisy.

  2. Just Jona March 26, 2014 / 10:14 am

    Yay team introverts! I am one myself :)

  3. nhieubeauty March 26, 2014 / 12:30 pm

    Awesome article. I am also a huge introvert myself – I nodded all the way through. As you have mentioned, there are just both introverts and extroverts out there. And it is a shame that society tends to value the extrovert qualities. Think I will take a look at that book. Thanks for writing and recommending :)

    • Sam March 27, 2014 / 7:24 am

      It’s an interesting read! I think there is good qualities in both extroverts and introverts, and we need to take the best of both worlds, not just focus on one!

      • nhieubeauty March 27, 2014 / 7:36 am

        I totally agree. I actually bought the book on kindle – it was only 3USD. Have read the intro. It’s quite interesting so far…

  4. EyeOfTheBeholder March 27, 2014 / 7:39 am

    Fellow introvert over here. It took me a few years to understand in what way I was different from a lot of people my age and why I felt a lot more comfortable having conversations with people who were at least 30 years older than me. I’m still looking for the balance in my life, but I’ll get there in the end. Great article! Super relatable.

  5. Daniel March 27, 2014 / 1:25 pm

    Awesome article. I recently started reading “The Introvert Advantage” and so far it’s awesome.

  6. Rae March 29, 2014 / 2:44 pm

    I think I’m somewhere in the middle. There are times that getting with a lot of people really tire me. And there’s moments when I need to be with people.

    In my circles though, extroverts are not really celebrated. Since I was a kid, I hear these many times:
    – look at that kid, so well-behaved, just sitting in his corner; or
    – the can that rattles the most is empty
    – he’s such a nice guy, very quiet and just keeps to himself

    It’s like, when you talk too much, you’re a mess.

    People should understand that there’s a difference in how we process information and one is not better than the other.

  7. AJ March 30, 2014 / 6:08 pm

    I am an ambivert and have struggled with the dilemma that this creates in my desire to have alone time and my crippling loneliness. I have come across situations where others stereotype me as an extrovert because I have the confidence to speak up in class and talk to strangers, and I get concerned that I am hurting friend’s feelings by declining invitations to parties. Yet, when I am particularly vulnerable I feel the need to surround myself with people for extended periods to keep myself safe.

    Susan Cain’s book: Quiet is excellent. I found it very interesting and it almost gave me licence to be the deep thinker and quiet person I feel like. I do find it a little too prescriptive at the end however.

    For me, what works is reflecting upon my feelings in that moment and having the understanding that my body and mind are giving me instructions which I should follow. I live my life moment-to-moment; seeking comfort directly, indirectly and apart from other people when it suits me.

    Exception: when friends etc need my support I sometimes put aside my need to be alone in order to support them. They have only done the same for me and I love them too much not to do the same.

Leave a Comment

