Do You Line Your Lower Lash Line?

I am about to broach the single most important subject that I have ever touched on this blog – do you line your upper or lower lash line, or both? Obviously, this issue is of massive importance because for my entire college life, I have only been solely an upper lash liner. I was always afraid to get near my lower lash line in fear that I would be reminiscent of the raccoon eyed emo kids in high school (oh wait, that was me).

A few weeks back, I was watching American Idol with my parents (I know my coolness factor is too much too handle) and, my mom asked me if I ever lined my whole eye like the girl on TV had. The answer was well, no. Once I moved to more neutral makeup colors, I got out of the habit of lining my lower lash line because I felt like it was too intense.

with full eyeliner without

As you can see, there is definitely a difference between only lining my upper lash line versus doing full liner. Personally, I think that tight lining my lower lash line has a tendency to make my eyes look smaller since I am literally outlining the whole area versus only giving my upper lash line more definition.

best
However, in the picture above, I  lightly lined my lower lash line (not tight lining the water line) and then tight lined my upper lash line. I think I like this the best of all three. It adds definition to my bottom lash line without seeming harsh or outliney. I am glad I experimented between the three because I think I might switch up my daily routine to achieve a similar look to this in the future. I encourage all of you to consider your eye liner routine over the next couple days and maybe experiment with something new – you never know what you’ll discover.

Is eye liner a staple for you?

9 thoughts on “Do You Line Your Lower Lash Line?

  1. Mended Wheels March 28, 2014 / 9:54 am

    Yes, it’s a staple. I line the outer 1/4 lash line below my lashes. It keeps it from completely closing off my eyes, but allows me to get a good cat eye corner.

    • Sam March 28, 2014 / 11:09 am

      Yeah, I usually will use a little of my crease eyeshadow in the outer 1/4 to create a more continuous look.

  2. Merrissa March 28, 2014 / 10:37 am

    I line both the upper and lower lash line :)

  3. kflowermaquillage March 28, 2014 / 10:56 am

    Lining the tightline with black liner makes your lashes look thicker & lining the waterline with black/brown closes the eye area & makes the eyes look smaller. I recommend a nude in the waterline, it really helps to open the eyes & makes you look more awake ( which I definitely need some says :p)

    • Sam March 28, 2014 / 11:11 am

      I actually do line my lower waterline with nude usually. ;) It definitely makes the eyes look brighter.

  4. budziak March 28, 2014 / 1:29 pm

    LOL I used to line my lower lash line with hardcore black liner too, not so much raccoon eyes but almost. I stopped using liner under the eye when I started blogging but now I’ll line/smuge some mid-tone or dark shadow that I’m using in my eye look. I don’t like having my under eye completely blank/linerless, it just doesn’t seem to flow. Then again, I don’t line all the way around either, more like a third of the way and fade it into the lash line. I was using Tarte’s nude liner but I’m not really a fan.

  5. comfortablyychic March 28, 2014 / 3:13 pm

    I usually wear eyeliner on the upper and lower eye-lid but I love how just the upper looks on you! I might need to try that :)

    Jen

  6. nataliamae87 March 29, 2014 / 11:45 pm

    I normally line my top waterline, bit only the bottom if I’m going for a smokey look. Also, if I line the bottom, I use a pencil brush to smoke out the lash line and help it lookout fluid

  7. Amber October 4, 2014 / 12:51 am

    Regardless of where I’m going or why, I only line my lower waterline with black and fade that into silver just below my lashes.

Leave a Comment

