I Used to Be Fun…Not Really

Being an adult is tough work. I don’t know when I went from watching my friends make prank calls on their flip phones (just goes to show that I was too much of a rule follower to chance even that) to checking the status of my loans and bringing my green bags to the grocery store. All of a sudden I feel like I should be walking around campus on a walker because as I listen to the younger students in my classes talk about how trashed they are getting this weekend, I am busy hoping to God that I can please be asleep by 11.

I used to be fun, you know. Okay – that’s a lie, I was never fun but, I used to eat pizza at the dining hall and watch Glee with my roommates. I used to be a college student, a very pitiful one, but a college student nonetheless. Now though, I just feel like…a grown up.

funny-quotes-growing-old

All of a sudden, I call my professors by their first name. Who does that? It just comes out though – I can’t help it. I used to be shy, really, I was all like Dr. Blah, Mrs. Blah, but now I’m just like, yo – I’m a grown woman – you better recognize.

What the heck is happening to me?

You know what I said the other day. “I remember when you were a baby.” I said those words, out loud, to a human being. You know who people used to say that to? To me! It was always, “Oh my gosh – is that Sammi? Look how grown up she is.” And now, all of a sudden I’m saying it to other people. The circle of life, my friends.

Somehow without me noticing, I have become an adult and you know what – It. Sucks. Sure, I can eat Cap’n Crunch for dinner but, guess who has to pay for that sugary goodness? You guessed it, the granny writing this.

Obviously, I am being over dramatic today, I realize that I am still living my prime years but, there is something inherently scary about realizing that so much time has passed me by without even noticing. There is always a lot of reflection around times of big change and since graduation is 24 days away, I guess I can blame that on the fact that all the prospective high school seniors visiting campus look like they’re 12.

I don’t know – it seems like just yesterday I was sitting in my dad’s minivan and unpacking the (way too many) boxes for my first room away from home, and now, I am about to graduate and enter the post-grad void.

Do you realize that I am actually going to have to find an apartment that is not part of a university system? Jeez. Since when is that a thing? Since when am I going to have to pay full price on student discount day at Qdoba? Since when am I not going to have conveniently placed winter and summer breaks in my life?

Since when do I end my posts with so many questions?

2 thoughts on “I Used to Be Fun…Not Really

  1. Jen April 30, 2014 / 7:28 am

    Hahaha. I’m 27 and I still don’t feel like a grown up. I think it’s because I don’t have a whole lot of “grown up” experiences. I lived at home all throughout college and still do (rent prices here are absolutely insane). And I’ve never been good at the whole going to sleep early thing. Case in point: it’s 1:27 am right now.

    Congrats on graduating, though! I assume your credits transferred and that bit with your grades were sorted out?

    I’d welcome you to the real world, but I’m still not living in it yet. ;)

Leave a Comment

