Makeup Rut

Didn’t you used to be like – a beauty blogger? I feel like we should have a chat as to why my beauty content has all but dried up the past few weeks. Simply put, I’m in a makeup rut.

Every time I go into Walmart, I browse the beauty section with the intent to buy something new and exciting only to settle on an old product that I know that works. Recently, I’ve just stopped wanting to put that much effort into trying new products when I know that my old standbys work, which sucks because it means minimal beauty content.

drawerwithliningpaper
My makeup collection at the moment…

My only way to explain this recent lack of beauty interest is three things.

1. It’s hard for me to spend money on something, use it once, and then realize I don’t like it and want to get rid of it. It actually stresses me out to buy products and then not use them. I feel like they are silently judging me in the drawer. I won’t throw away old products until I’ve finished them. And if the idea of not using products stress me out than having way too many products gives me massive stress. When I open my makeup drawer, I like to have one mascara, one concealer, one eyeliner. This makes new content a struggle since I tend to hang out with one product for a month or two months at a time.

2. I am super busy as graduation approaches. It’s so much easier to use things that I know work every single day rather than having to worry that I will use something new, won’t like how it looks, and will have to waste time taking it off and redoing my makeup.

3. My skin is almost perfect right now, and it makes me very nervous to try face products when I know what I am using works. Also, in clearing my skin, I have abandoned foundation and blush entirely.

The point of this post is not to make excuses or to apologies – it’s just to fill all of you in to what’s happening. I don’t know when or if I am going to decide to get back into posting more regular beauty content but, I know some of you signed up for this whole show because you like when I talk nail polish, blush, and lotion. If that’s the case, I wish that I could suddenly rekindle my love of eye shadow but, I don’t know when that will be the case.

Here’s to figuring out my blogging future.

 

2 thoughts on “Makeup Rut

  1. TooManyMuffins April 30, 2014 / 5:17 pm

    I can definitely relate to the skincare aspect. My skin has improved so much lately as I’ve being putting in a lot of effort and taking care of it. I’m always so scared with new products in case they will set it off bad again! I do miss your beauty blogging though, you always do great tutorials! x

  2. Crazy A... April 30, 2014 / 5:18 pm

    Hey!! You do know that most places take back makeup you don’t like if you have the receipt, right?? When I try something new I don’t like, I always try to return it! Walmart takes back pretty much everything even if it’s almost gone!

Leave a Comment

