I Graduated From College!

So…hey there. How’s it going? Did ya miss me?

Curiously enough, I am still alive despite the somewhat erratic two months that have been April and May. As of last Thursday, I crossed the finish line of my college education, putting the nail in the coffin of ever having to learn anything ever again. Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating but if I really wanted to, I could now technically spend the rest of my days living in my car and eating spam with a spork. It makes me a little light-headed, all this freedom.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Six days ago, I donned my overpriced cap and gown, and let my tassel smack me in the face as I walked to join more than a thousand of my university’s graduates. I waited for several hours to walk across the stage, shake the president’s hand, and turn my tassel in order to proclaim to the world, I am officially wearing a really stupid hat.

Now, I’ve been graduated for almost a week and besides sleeping eleven hours a day, I can’t say I feel all that different. When I think about it, I feel like I reached the end of the trail and now,  I am staring out over this really big unmarked field with all this space for me to go wherever I want.

I’ve always lived my life with my education as my obligation but now, it’s like nothing is holding me back anymore. That’s not to say that I am going to pack my bags and move to Canada but, there is something exhilarating about realizing that…I am free. It’s hard to explain. Maybe, my brain was just finished with college long before I turned my tassel because I am not really scared to say goodbye to university life anymore.

Maybe once my vacation ends on Sunday and, I am back to work and my stuff is in my new apartment, the fact that I never have to write another essay in my life will sink in for real.

For now though, welcome to the post-grad void, my friends.

7 thoughts on “I Graduated From College!

  1. thescribblingtrain May 28, 2014 / 10:03 am

    Congratulations on graduating! I can totally relate to that feeling of overwhelming and unstructured days of no brain work it’s weird. I’m just waiting to graduate in July but I’m starting a 1 year post-grad in September so not completely free from education yet!

    • Sam June 5, 2014 / 12:57 pm

      Thank you! :) It’s a big relief to have no homework!

  2. PK May 28, 2014 / 9:58 pm

    Congratulations and may happiness, laughter and good luck be your constant companions as you travel down the road of life.

    • Sam June 5, 2014 / 12:57 pm

      Thank you! :)

  3. Jen June 6, 2014 / 5:20 am

    Glad to see you back, and congratulations! Welcome to the real world. ;)

  4. beautybychick June 12, 2014 / 3:09 pm

    Congrats girl, I’m so excited for you. I can’t wait to be done. I’m currently wrapping up my second last semester and can’t wait for it to end. :(

Leave a Comment

