Finding a Job is Hard Work

Looking-for-a-job-630x286

Funny story, I actually have to pay back that dollar amount on my college loan statement. Yeah – apparently that whole interest thing is well…a thing. Who knew? Apparently, adulthood has less to do with being able to set my own curfew and more to do with watching my bank account go as dry as the Sahara.

In other news, job searching actually requires a lot of time and effort. I am not just talking about a few minutes here and there, I am talking about hours of re-entering the same information over and over again on different websites. Whoever is smart enough to figure out a universal job application – sign me up, please.

Lucky for me, I still have my part-time internship to pay for my rent and food but, haul posts anytime in the near future are looking dismal, my friends. It’s all rent checks and grilled cheese on my end.

Finding a job is actually really hard work.

You have to read the position description, fill out the application, write a cover letter, tailor your resume to the description, follow up with contacts, iron your pants, go on interviews, and then follow up with the contact again. It’s like trying to do a waltz with your feet tied together -I am  just trying to do the steps without looking like a total moron.

It’s a lot of decision making, bargaining, and smiling. A lot of smiling.

I am not sure what will come of all this. Right now, I have a six month loan grace period looming over me like the dark gloomy cloud of misery and, I am hoping that I will have done enough smiling by then to ace a position somewhere doing something other than being stuck at home, watching Grey’s reruns on Netflix in my PJs at 2 pm.

High expectations for a new grad.

5 thoughts on “Finding a Job is Hard Work

  1. budziak June 10, 2014 / 10:36 am

    What kind of job are you searching for? Ugh, can you imagine the stress/shock/fear of being laid off? At least neither of us are in that boat! Really random but I found my job via Craigslist, I’m a receptionist at an asset valuation company that relates to my major but I have to get my butt back in school and just finish already to advance -_- That said, Craigslist might be a bit easier because some HR managers just want cover letter & resume attachments in an e-mail, which is a lot less tedious than filling out a whole app. Just be careful if you go that route, lots of sketchy ads out there… You’ll find something, just don’t get discouraged, I freaked out after moving to TX, still having bills and not having a job for a month. My bff moved to NV after she got her degree (about 6 months ago) and still doesn’t have a job :-/ I think it’s all in how you market yourself, how passionate and quick you are and not selling yourself short. My bf always pressures me to apply for things I’m not qualified for and sometimes I do, I mean, you never know who might say yes and why, but the worst that will happen is I’m denied. Haha. Good luck!

  2. Colleen June 11, 2014 / 7:30 am

    I feel for you… Have you tried your school’s career center? They can set you up with login-only job search sites, alumni networks, and even check over your resume for you. Mine gave me really good recommendations. Just hang in there, and keep working hard!

  3. anadventurersdream June 11, 2014 / 11:03 pm

    I’m in the same boat. Luckily, I’ve gotten a few interviews so far but we’ll see what happens with those. One month down out of the grace period before I set sail into the terrorizing sea called student debt.

    On the bright side, I’m sure you are going to find the perfect job to get started off with. Just keep doing what you are doing and try not to go crazy typing and retyping your resume and information into multiple job applications.

    Good luck and I can’t wait to hear how everything goes!

  4. Michael Lin June 16, 2014 / 12:51 am

    Finding a job really is a full-time job in its own right. Besides a couple of internships, it took me a long time after college to secure my first full-time job, You just have to be really patient, stay positive, and network as much as you can! Good luck with it all!

Leave a Comment

