Why I Don’t Straighten My Hair

I had a really burning desire to straighten my hair this week. I am letting my hair grow out longer than it has been for my entire life and, I was wondering how long it would really be without my curls stealing up precious inches.

So, I heated up the straightening iron on Tuesday, settled down with my clips, and tried to bargain some knots out of my hair with my barely used brush (hint – curly haired people do not get along with brushes). It had been more than a year since I last straightened my hair and even though I was really interested to see what my hair would look like straight again, I realized that I actually didn’t want to flatten my curls anymore.

samandro straight hair

In fact, I’ve become quite attached to my curly hair over the past few years and long gone is the teenager who used to gel her hair into submission every day.

But, I straightened it anyway, and the result was…eh. I used to be so in love with straight hair but, when I looked in the mirror this time around, I missed my curls. I actually seriously missed my curly hair and quickly remembered why I hate straightening my hair.

1. Time – I have such thick hair and, it takes a good 20 minutes to get all of my hair even decently straightened.

2. Hair health – I have a hard time believing that heat protectant can really spare hair from long-term heat exposure. Also, my hair combusts into frizz and split ends whenever I try to straighten on a regular basis even with protectant.

3. The smell – The smell of burnt hair is ick. I also hate the smell of the plates when they warm up. Ick ick.

4. Humidity – My hair is so resilient to the straightener that as soon as the humidity hits 10% every piece of hair just starts to slowly curl back up. It’s like watching all my time curl away right in front of my eyes.

5. I don’t feel like me – My curly hair is a part of me. It curls exceptionally well with minimal effort and, I actually like it a lot. It took me such a long time to realize that I love my hair, frizz, mess, and all, and, every time I straighten it, I feel like I am missing an important part of me. I got bullied so much in middle school because of my hair, and it took me such a long time to realize how awesome it is the way that it is.

tl;dr – Love what you got.

One thought on “Why I Don’t Straighten My Hair

  1. christineconfesses June 13, 2014 / 12:37 pm

    Same struggles over here! I wish I didn’t have to straighten mine all the time, but I hate not having control of it when it’s curly *sigh*

Leave a Comment

