I Got a (Second) Job!

Can we all have a internet high-five? Last week, I reflected on the fact that part-time work wasn’t going to cut it when it came to paying rent and my student loans back, but as of yesterday I have officially been hired at another part-time gig. Now, I can officially pay all of my bills, expenses, and loans, and come out with savings. Progress, my friends, progress.

secondjob

I have always been a saver when it comes to money (i.e. a cheap as anything), and it’s a major relief that the dollar amount in my bank account will now be increasing rather than decreasing, no matter how small the amount being added to my savings each month.

Even though I still won’t have benefits, luckily the Affordable Care Act will keep me under my parent’s health insurance for the next five years, so right now, all I have to worry about is making sure that the enough money rolls in to pay for everything else. Time to break out the coupons.

I took a bit of a risk by moving back to Baltimore with only the promise of part-time work. I knew that my internship would continue but, I was unsure if I would be able to find extra work to add up to full-time hours, and I really did not want to be forced back into being a cashier and making minimum wage again.

I really hope to continue in the field that I am in. I love it in that nerdy “you actually like going to work” kind of way, and this second job will give me a whole new perspective and experience to my industry.

Things in the post-grad world are finally looking up!

11 thoughts on “I Got a (Second) Job!

  1. Notorious Beauty Blog June 17, 2014 / 11:17 am

    That is awesome! I am home for the summer working and trying to save up after graduation but am moving to Oregon in the fall and am EXTREMELY nervous about making it all work haha so it’s nice to see other people my age be successful at it and do well :)

  2. budziak June 17, 2014 / 12:07 pm

    Yay! Congrats! I feel like I skipped the whole college part (or at least post-poned it) and moved straight to working. Hope you still have time to blog, I like reading your posts!

    • Sam June 17, 2014 / 6:52 pm

      :) I think I will stick with two posts a week and, I can make it work. Thanks!

  3. Pk June 17, 2014 / 1:10 pm

    Hi I gave your cousin Allesia a lead for you

    • Sam June 17, 2014 / 6:52 pm

      Thanks – I applied through their website. :)

  4. Colleen June 17, 2014 / 1:16 pm

    Congratulations!! That’s so wonderful. I deferred the terrifying post-school job search for another year, but this gives me hope :)

    • Sam June 17, 2014 / 6:53 pm

      :) Thanks, Colleen. When are you finished with graduate school?

      • Colleen June 17, 2014 / 6:59 pm

        I’m finished next May. It’s going to go my so fast!

Leave a Comment

