I Really Want to Like China Glaze Nail Polish

I have long searched for the perfect nail polish brand. In my high school days, it was Sally Hansen Insta-Dri and later, in my college years, I discovered my true nail polish soul mate, Essie. However, while I knew and loved Essie for all that it was, I wasn’t ready to tie myself down to one polish brand for the rest of my life. That’s when I met China Glaze. China Glaze seduced me with its $7.50 price tag and bright neon colors but, it wasn’t until the chipping began that I saw it for what it really was, an Essie imposter.

I bought my first bottle of China Glaze back in March, after I discovered the brand in Ulta. Sitting catty-corner with Essie and OPI, I figured it was destined to be one of the polish elites.

It wasn’t until my second purchase in the China Glaze family that I realized my mistake.

chinaglaze1

China Glaze is just is not the brand for me. I don’t know if it’s the surface of my nails or the formula of the polish but, I just can’t get the stuff to stay on. When applying, it dries insanely quick, which was a huge plus for me, however, it often takes three coats before I capture the true pigmentation in the bottle. And with all the coats, I figured the stuff would be chip proof but, when applying to my fingernails, the polish chips off several hours later.  I’m not talking tiny nicks but, the lacquer literally peels off in huge chunks even when having washed my hands and using base coat before painting my nails.

I can’t figure out what the problem is.

When it comes to removing the polish, it is impossible to take off. I will go through four or five cotton pads just trying to get it off, which makes me scratch my head because when I want it to stay put, I can’t get it to stay on my nails.

chinaglaze2

Usually, I am not much for ranting about products that I don’t like on this blog but, I feel a little duped by China Glaze. Online reviews everywhere are giving it 4/5 but, when I start scrolling through them I see the same complaints that I have about this brand. Chipping. Too many coats. Hard to take off.

In my experience, I have had better much better luck with drugstore brands, and when it comes down to it, $7.50 is too high a price for a polish that flakes off the same day as the application. If anything my experience with China Glaze has reminded me of my true love for Essie and that when it comes to forking over that extra buck, Essie is worth the price.

What is your experience with China Glaze?

7 thoughts on “I Really Want to Like China Glaze Nail Polish

  1. llewsoba July 28, 2014 / 9:46 am

    I don’t have any issues with China Glaze, but the forumla is very thin and I find myself looking at other brands lately.

    I think it’s good for people to see that even our nails are different and a popular brand may be a nightmare for some people!

  2. producthoochie July 28, 2014 / 10:50 am

    I find China Glaze to be eh. I do prefer Essie. I also like Sinful Colors- the bottles look similar to China Glaze but are $1.99.

  3. amysbeautydiary July 28, 2014 / 11:03 am

    I hate China Glaze nail polish! It always comes off really streaky for me. They always have pretty colors, but I don’t like the formula at all. On the other hand, their No-Chip Top Coat is amazing! :)

  4. Carina July 28, 2014 / 12:52 pm

    Butter London foreva! They’re on a HUGE sale right now. :-)

    • Jen July 29, 2014 / 2:40 am

      YAAASSS. Butter London is the best I’ve tried so far!

  5. Jen July 29, 2014 / 2:41 am

    I only have a couple polishes from China Glaze. I think their brushes are too thin. I don’t notice that it chips off any faster than another polish; most polishes will chip off within a day or two. I can’t figure out what I’m doing wrong. :(

  6. jackiraivo July 30, 2014 / 9:04 pm

    I just love your narrations: )

Leave a Comment

